Skip to content

Do You Really Love Him More?

December 9, 2009

As many of you know Matt Chandler, pastor of The Village Church in Dallas, recently had a seizure and had to have surgery to remove a tumor on his brain.  As of right now, he is still in recovery but has been moved out of the ICU.  Before he went in for his surgery he recorded a video message for everyone that, true to form, had some great thoughts in it.  He sees this situation as an opportunity to show that even in the difficult times, God is still more enough.  But the biggest thing that hammered me is that as this surgery is taking place and his life could easily end.  He would miss out on so much, but still, he loves God more.

That is an amazing thought.  It’s a tough question.  Do you love God more than everything else?  The easy answer is yes, but is that really true?  It made me sit back and think.  And if I’m being truly honest with God,

  • Do I love Him more than I do my wife who I can’t imagine being without?
  • Do I love Him more than growing old with her?
  • Do I love Him more than I do my baby girl who despite not having met her yet, I would quickly give my life for?
  • Do I love Him more than my desire to see her grow up and walk her down the isle one day?

I love my wife.  I love my baby girl.  And I love God.  But sometimes it hurts to be honest.  I wanna love Him more than anything and everything.  My own selfishness holds me back from that.  So be honest.  Take some time today and ask yourself that question.  Do you love Him more than ______?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

