Skip to content

The I Before He Rule

December 4, 2009

Growing up we learn the “i before e” rule for basic, confusing English grammar.  You know.  “I” before “e” except after “c” as in neighbor and weigh…or while eating curds and weigh…or unless your neighbor is gay…or something like that.  It is the most confusing rule in our language.  But we still have to learn it.

We as humans follow a different rule.  The I Before He rule.  I live for me and then God.  We are human.  We suck like that.  But as we follow Christ we learn the opposite of that rule, that He comes first.  Yet still we fight that battle all the time.  We pray things like I need or give me…  We sing songs that focused more on what we get out of the relationship.  These things in and of themselves are not bad.  If you know me, you know that I need prayer.  I need Him to give me patience.  I need a lot of things that I pray for.  It’s not a bad thing to sing of the life I have because of Him.  We should celebrate those things.  But there is more to it!

It is so easy to get caught up in the things that we need or want or have that we forget to worship God because.  We don’t deserve to be saved.  We don’t deserve to be blessed by Him.  We don’t deserve glory and honor.  Sometimes we need to stop worrying about ourselves and worship Him.  He is holy.  The Creator of all things.  God of mercy.  Author of love.  All-powerful God.  Overwhelmingly more than my everything.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 9:35 AM

    AMEN!

  2. dmjames permalink
    December 4, 2009 2:04 PM

    It’s a wonderful thing we don’t get what we deserve…..but then He doesn’t get what He deserves and He still loves us. Amazing!!

Leave a Reply

