Skip to content

A Revelation Song

December 3, 2009

This past weekend, my wife and I had the privilege of going to LifeChurch.tv in Edmond, OK. Of course we loved it. Marcy Priest led and as always did an amazing job. One of my favorite things is getting to hear other people lead worship. Not only is it a nice break to just be in the middle of it all sometimes instead of leading, but it’s also a great way to hear new songs. Marcy did a song called Revelation Song recorded by Kim Walker and written by Jennie Lee Riddle. Loved it! I have no idea how I haven’t heard it before. It’s such a great song. Then throw Kim Walker in the mix and it is freakin’ outstanding! My favorite part of the song is the driving bridge (surprise surprise) that simply says “Be my Everything“. I love it. How many times do we need God to be our everything? But how many times do we actually let Him be our everything.

Read the lyrics. Go get the song. Worship your Everything.

worthy is the Lamb who was slain
holy, holy is He
sing a new song to Him who sits on
heaven’s mercy seat

holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty
Who was and is and is to come
with all creation i sing praise to the King of Kings
You are my everything and i will adore You

clothed in rainbows of living color
flashes of lightning, rolls of thunder
blessing and honor, strength and glory and power be
to You the only Wise King

holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty
Who was and is and is to come
with all creation i sing praise to the King of Kings
You are my everything and i will adore You

filled with wonder, awestruck wonder
at the mention of Your name
Jesus, Your name is Power, Breath, and Living Water
such a marvelous mystery

holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty
Who was and is and is to come
with all creation i sing praise to the King of Kings
You are my everything and i will adore You

be my Everything, be my Everything
be my Everything, be my Everything

holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty
Who was and is and is to come
with all creation i sing praise to the King of Kings
You are my everything and i will adore You

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie Harris permalink
    December 3, 2009 6:19 AM

    awesome. thanks for sharing!

  2. J Pettigrew permalink
    December 3, 2009 6:41 AM

    Yeah, how in the world have you never heard that song??? It’s one I use very often. In fact, its the one song that people ask me to do on the rare occasion I lead.

    You’re right about the lyrics though… There is SO much power in those words. Everytime I use this song, a different phrase of the song sticks out, and I am touched by it’s meaning.

    Another great thing about it (besides the amazing lyrics), is that it uses the same four chords throughout the song, making it easy to just play under the Holy Spirit’s leading and transition freely from what part of the song to the next. I’ve heard several versions of the song by different artists, and no one does it the same. Yet they are all great.

    If I ever get the chance to record a CD, I guarantee this song will be on it.

  3. mom permalink
    December 3, 2009 8:23 AM

    we sing it up here a lot. it is one of the pastor’s favorites. 🙂 great worship song

  4. aaron permalink
    December 3, 2009 9:01 AM

    we are doing it sunday, done it several times before…good tune.

  5. J Pettigrew permalink
    December 3, 2009 9:16 AM

    Thought I would add this, you may want to add it to your blog…

    The Story behind Revelation Song:

  6. December 3, 2009 9:30 AM

    you HAVE heard it before…just didn’t realize it b/c you don’t like what your wife listens to 😉

  7. December 3, 2009 12:29 PM

    This song is my all time fav. song! Every word, every line makes me cry out to the lord! I think its about time I pay my ipod a little visit! Thanks Brook.

  8. I'm Brook James permalink*
    December 3, 2009 12:53 PM

    KK – You are right. I have heard the song before. I didn’t remember that until I listened to it again by Christ For The Nations. I remember you playing it for me when we drove past the CFTN building in Dallas one time. You are correct. It apparently just never clicked in my head. But I love the song. Apparently several others do as well. Maybe we should start doing it too.

    And yes, I do like stuff that you listen to (not all but a good bit)!

    J – Thanks for the video! It’s always cool to hear where the songs come from. I love that she wrote it in response to everything being “us” focused and not God focused.

  9. December 3, 2009 11:47 PM

    Yah…how did that happen??? LOL!

  10. December 3, 2009 11:47 PM

    really… I guess we used to sing it before you were worship pastor…. I love it.. play it this week 🙂

  11. December 3, 2009 11:50 PM

    Kari jobe version my fav but first heard Kim walker smith with jesusculture awesome too

  12. December 7, 2009 1:05 PM

    This song is amazing! They sing it at Rock Harbor, and I immediately freaked out and became obsessed with it. 🙂

  13. Dennis permalink
    December 10, 2009 8:39 AM

    I now listened to the Kari Jobe version several times and really enjoy it. And I’ve shared it with others. Give us links to other great songs that you know about!

Leave a Reply

