Skip to content

The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

December 2, 2009

Yeah, I quoted a Christmas song in the title.  For those of you that know me well, you understand that this is a big deal for me.  Apparently, this is the most wonderful time of the year, but I’m not sure I agree with that.  Yes, we celebrate the birth of Jesus during Christmas (even though His birthday apparently was not conveniently December 25th).  That part is great.  But it’s the rest of the chaos that makes it one of my least favorite times of year.  Now before you tattoo “Scrooge” on my forehead and send me packing, hear me out.

There are some great things about Christmas time.  I’ll start with that.  I love that we get to celebrate the birth of Jesus and whether the rest of the world knows it or not, they are doing the same.  I love that people actually feel like they should go to church so we get a chance to reach some people that won’t normally walk through the doors.  I love that I get to spend time with more family and friends.  I love having a good excuse to spend money on the people I love.  I love that my wife loves Christmas.  But, I struggle to keep all these things in mind with all the other stuff in driving me crazy.

From what I can tell, the span of days dubbed “the most wonderful time of the year” starts on the day after Thanksgiving.  That day is also so lovingly called “Black Friday”.  Awesome way to start the most wonderful time of the year, don’t you think?  Let’s all get up insanely early (or not go to bed at all) and go stand in line for several hours in the cold (thankfully not here) and then madly stampede through the doors with little regard to life and limb to snag the best possible deal EVER!  Yeah.  People getting trampled while racing to grab a bunch of stuff is definitely not my way of welcoming in the most wonderful time of the year.  But unfortunately it doesn’t stop with just Black Friday.  The rest of the most wonderful time of the year is chaos when trying to go anywhere resembling a mall.

To top that off, the most wonderful time of the year is typically the coldest part of the year as well.  Therefore, not my favorite.  But the biggest thing of all for me is the Christmas music.  It is my least favorite time of the year for music.  I can’t stand the 24 hour Christmas music stations and every store playing the same songs every single day.  I don’t wanna hear the same song by four different artists with in 20 minutes.  A few years back I needed some Christmas songs for Sundays and had nothing good.  So I went to a music store in an effort to find some good quality Christmas music.  After a couple hours of looking and listening to different albums I found out that there was nothing.  But, when you are a music pastor you can’t escape the Christmas music.  (Maybe I’ll start saving up all my vacation time for the entire year and then just take the month of December off next year.)  So there is my dilemma.  I need some good Christmas music.  I don’t wanna cheesy normal Christmas music.  I need something different than Go Tell It On The Mountain and Hark The Herald Angels Sing.  (PS – I had to look up how to spell Herald.  I had no idea.)

So those of you out there who have made it this far without deciding that I am a complete jerk because I don’t look forward to Christmas time, I need your help!

  • What are good Christmas songs for just playing as a band (and not banging my head against the wall)?
  • What Christmas songs are your favorites for corporate worship?
  • Worship pastors, what are you planning on this year?
13 Comments leave one →
  1. J Pettigrew permalink
    December 2, 2009 9:43 AM

    I recently found a great song by Fee called ” All Creation Sing “. It’s a spin on Joy to the World, and it’s pretty cool. That is the ONLY unique Christmas song I’ve found so far… but I’m still looking and I’ll let ya know if I come up with more.

    Miss ya!

  2. December 2, 2009 10:37 AM

    Hey – i just read your blog,, and I am also always looking for good music,,for dancing – ha not singing… a very good way to find new stuff. is to stream line – klty… listen to it live and while listen they tell you what they are playing and 5 songs back,, another nice way is of course pandora.. type in christian Christmas music.. a station just for that my friend… Hope this helps… oh and 33 miles – Christmas Medley is nice..:)

  3. December 2, 2009 11:25 AM

    I love the blog but just wanted to let you know on Black Friday we stood outside best buy at 4:30 am and it was pretty cold…

  4. Reag permalink
    December 2, 2009 12:43 PM

    Well, unfortunately, I have no song suggestions for you at the moment. I guess I inherited the love for Christmas and the cheesey songs that passed you over. So sorry. But I would just like to say I’m VERY proud of you for putting a song as the title. Miracles do happen. 🙂

  5. December 2, 2009 1:44 PM

    For church or in general?? If it is for church, Marty has some songs that you may like.

  6. December 2, 2009 1:44 PM

    hit play on a cd, its not worth actually reproducing the song with real musicians or singers…

    they will thank me for it…(as i am headed to church practice tonight with 5 christmas songs)

    for real though,i played for a band that did a christmas cd…destination known, some good arrangements. also, my friend david dewese just finished christmas album. haven’t heard that one, but he;s a good musician….

  7. I'm Brook James permalink*
    December 2, 2009 1:48 PM

    J, Aaron – I’ll have to check those songs out. Maybe they will be perfect!

    Dianna – You are crazy.

    Reag – I’m disappointed. I thought you would have a HUGE list of songs for me. (Or are you admitting that they are all cheesy?)

  8. December 2, 2009 4:40 PM

    Whatever you do, it should probably involve drumming on trashcans.

  9. December 2, 2009 4:41 PM

    Read your blog…I agree with you.

  10. Jenny permalink
    December 2, 2009 5:38 PM

    The Jars of Clay Peace is Here album has some different sounding non-Christmas jingle Chrismasy songs on it.

  11. Victor Estrada permalink
    December 3, 2009 6:36 AM

    Man, there’s a ton of good stuff out there and there is a ton of horrible stuff out there. I agree with you as far as not wanting to hear the same ol’ same ol’… But ya know, they work because moat people love it. So what I’ve been doing is taking songs over the past few years and making them how I want them to be, have some fun an put your spin on them. They don’t have to change much (and as far as singability goes that’s a good thing corporately) but change it up.

    Also if you’re looking for some inspiration check out Future of Forestry’s Christmas EP… It’ll give you some ideas. Mmmmm, I’m loving that album right now.

  12. December 3, 2009 8:14 AM

    Sing by Josh Wilson. LOVE it!!! Just told Marcy about it a few days ago!

  13. December 3, 2009 12:49 PM

    Do you hear what I hear, love came down at Christmas, or try the chasing furies version of oh come, oh come Emmanuel

Leave a Reply

