Skip to content

Jesus Saves

November 24, 2009

A few days ago, the yearly reading on YouVersion was Nehemiah 10.  As you read through the chapter it starts talking about many of the sacrifices and offerings that were required to be right with God.  It wasn’t repent and ask for forgiveness.  It was find the best animal/bread you have and offer it up to God.  All through the Old Testament you can see this.  The Israelites had to do so much to keep in good standings with God.  Fortunately it didn’t end there.  We aren’t caught up in the same rules.  Jesus came to wipe all that out.  Now we have access to God through Jesus and not constant bloody sacrifices and a high priest.

As I was preparing for last Sunday this chapter stood out to me.  We constantly try so hard to earn forgiveness and love from God but we can never live up to it.  Even if we did still follow the old rules, we wouldn’t be good enough.  But no matter how hard I try or how badly I fail, the love of God is not determined by me.  It is always there.  I never deserve it, but it is always there.  And all because Jesus came for me.

One of the songs that was chosen for Sunday morning was called Jesus Saves.  I just can’t get past that.  The Israelites had to do so much before Jesus came.  Now all we have to do is turn it all over to Him.  He saves.  I don’t deserve it and never will, but He saves.  Love it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. dmjames permalink
    November 25, 2009 11:24 AM

    Of course you are right…..I just keep having to re-turn it all over to Him. My self never seems to give up completely.

Leave a Reply

