Skip to content

I Hate Old Navy

November 23, 2009

You know, it really takes a lot for me to hate something.  I like to think of myself as a commercial critic.  I like to look at them objectively and see if they make sense or are hitting me in the way they intended or if it makes me want to purchase from them.  There are always commercials that are annoying (Bud Light’s Jimmy Football) or don’t make me want to watch what they are promoting (ABC’s V), but they usually don’t make me want to do everything I can to bring them down.  It’s not even that I would actually do anything like that but, man, they really make me want to!

For me, Old Navy takes the cake.  Not in the good way.  More of in the way that you are about to dig into some really amazing dessert that Rachel Ray made for you and then Old Navy ran in and trashed the place, lit everything on fire, kicked your dog, spit on your wedding photo and stole the cake only to throw it on the floor.  I am almost absolutely positive (not 100% only because I don’t know what I may or may not have giggled at as a little kid) that there has never been an Old Navy commercial that has done any of the following:

  • Entertain me
  • Make me want to visit their store
  • Make me want to spend money in their store
  • Make me want to continue watching their commercial
  • Do anything other than just straight tick me off

It’s true.  If they didn’t have sales that sucker my wife in, I would do everything possible to never EVER go in that store.  No I don’t want to spend $4 on a pair of crappy flip flops that I can buy at Walmart of half that.  No I don’t want some random goofy item of clothing that a talking mannequin is wearing.  From the very first Old Navy commercial that I can remember watching, I have wanted to break my TV.  And you would think that they would come up with something catchy or fun or cool or not completely annoying, but no.  They have just gotten worse and worse.  And don’t even get me started about EVER piece of clothing I have ever had from there shrinking or fitting awkwardly or writing your name on EVERYTHING.

Ok.  I’m done for now.  No more hating on the blog.  Just had to vent.  This will do…at least until the launching of my new website http://www.ihateoldnavycommercialsmorethanpassingkidneystones.com.  And yes Old Navy, I do want to run into your store and form tackle your entire mannequin display.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. dmjames permalink
    November 23, 2009 9:49 AM

    Where is your trendy spirit?? dad

  2. November 23, 2009 10:45 AM

    easy bitter old man.

  3. November 23, 2009 1:22 PM

    I do NOT LIKE those comercials…they are stupid..(did I just say that?) LOL!

  4. Brenda permalink
    November 23, 2009 1:58 PM

    They are open on Thanksgiving Day. Maybe now isn’t the time to break the news to you that we might visit there that day.

Leave a Reply

