Skip to content

Boosting Traffic, Blog Stats & Hit Counters

November 18, 2009

Throughout the blogoshpere there seems to be one consistent question.  How do I get more traffic?  Whether you are starting an online business or giving your business an online presence or writing for your church and most anything in between, the question remains.  What can I do to make my online presence more valuable to people?  How can I drive more people to my page?  While there are many ways to answer this question and many ways that I have discovered, that isn’t what I really want to focus on today.  I’m thinking more of how does this question apply to ministry blogs and self-promotion.

We are all human.  Part of being human is having to deal with the issue of what others think and the desire to be liked by others.  I think we all struggle with this to some degree.  And this issue is no different in the blogging world than at school, work, or the gym.  Each writer wants his or her work to be appreciated and liked.  Once something is written or created, the writer now has to help others find this creation.  One major way for online writers to feel that their work is being appreciated and enjoyed is by the website statistics.  There is good information out there to learn from.  You can find out where people are reading from, what they click on the most, what they search for the most, how often the come to the page and so much more.  But then the writer has to make sure they don’t fall into the trap of putting too much emphasis on the stats.  Obviously this is a different scenario for those selling things, but for ministry it is something to think about.

If you are not careful, it becomes very easy to pay too much attention to your blog stats or number of Twitter followers or Facebook friends.  It becomes too easy to forget the reason your site is there in the first place.  It is no longer about the ministry or what is being written and read.  At that point why are you blogging anyway?  I have found myself there before.  I become worried about how many people are coming to my page or how many people just stopped following me on Twitter or if anyone is a fan of my page on Facebook.  I forget why I started doing this in the first place.

Another very related issue is that of self-promotion.  Once your page has been created, there is a necessary amount of promotion that must be done in order for anything to happen with your page.  But at what point is there the line that is going too far with the self-promotion?  Is it wrong to Twitter when you have a new post?  If not, how many times is it ok to push your site?  Is it wrong to link your page?  Is it wrong to sign your blog up on the blog database websites?  Is it ok to have your website be your name or should it be something more generic and churchy?  Or can you chalk those actions up to desiring to see God work through another avenue in your life and hoping to impact someone else’s life?  I think I can see both sides of the coin here.  On one side it is annoying and a deterrent when someone pushes their page too much, but on the other side, if they don’t push it at least some, people won’t know about it or they will forget about it.  What kind of impact can you have if no one knows about your page?  What kind of influence could you have on God’s people if you did promote it?

For me, I know that I would love to see the Lord use my writings and thoughts to impact people’s lives.  Kinda part of being a pastor I guess.  Maybe it’s just my way of preaching so I don’t have to get up and talk in front of people.  If the readership I have right now is doing the max of what God has planned for this blog, then so be it, but if there is something bigger in the future for this blog, that’s ok too!  I just want to use the gifts and resources that I have been given to impact the lives of those I might come in contact with.  I pray that God would help me see that this is a tool for Him to use and not an ego booster.  I pray that I can move past the “what do they think” and “did people like that” and help fight the stereotype that being a pastor at a church is basic narcissism.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dmjames permalink
    November 18, 2009 8:49 AM

    hmmm… thought provoking B. I enjoy hearing what you are thinking!

  2. dmjames permalink
    November 18, 2009 3:27 PM

    Good questions….one thought, your blogs have a wide variation of concepts, ideas and content. If you are wanting a wider ministry audience, maybe narrowing your subject matter to those ideas that will more often appeal to who you want to influence. It won’t matter much to your family and friends(although I like to hear what goes thru your mind), but to others it may be they are looking for something else. We as family like it as is but who you are trying to reach is critical. Just make sure our granddaughter is in there alot!! dad

Leave a Reply

