Skip to content

Support With Twitter Connections

November 11, 2009

My Green Twitter Profile PictureFor the past several months, my Twitter profile picture has been shaded green.  As I write this it still is.  On June 12th of this year, the nation of Iran held elections in which there was alleged corruption and which was followed by weeks of protests by the people of Iran.  The Iranian government used brutality and forced out all reporters as well as banned the use of the internet to the population.  Not really the actions of innocent people if you ask me.  The protests were extremely intense for quite a while.  Even as late as November 4th there were still protests not only taking place but being met with police opposition.

Twitter Fail WhaleNormally I don’t jump on this sort of support.  Don’t get me wrong.  I am all for freedom and true elections.  I mean that I usually don’t change my Twitter picture or do something like that to show my support.  I understand for our own elections and the thinking behind outwardly supporting those, but for something across the world in a country that doesn’t really want the Western world to “fix” their problems, I’m not entirely sure that it does much supporting.  But, that’s ok.  I did it anyway.  So it has been there for almost 5 months now and the other day someone asked me why I still have that green picture on Twitter.  This got me thinking.

How many times do we outwardly support something but really don’t do anything about it?  Granted there may not have been a ton that I could actually do for Iran, but was I really willing to actually do something if there had been?  It is really easy to change our profile picture to be green or have add a Lance Armstrong badge to it or join 400 different clubs and causes on Facebook, but what does that really do?  Well, I don’t know about you, but I try not to add badges or join causes just because I saw it or someone suggested it to me.  I join the cause because I believe in it.  I join because it means something to me.  I don’t wanna do it just because it’s the thing to do.  There is no point in that.  I don’t know what I can do about the craziness in Iran, but every time I see my green Twitter picture it reminds me of what has and is happening there and reminds me to pray for them.  But I’m not perfect.  It doesn’t always work that way.

What about you?  Why do you add badges, change your profile picture, join Facebook causes, etc.?  Are you like most of us or do you really find ways to support those causes?

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 9:15 AM

    You know I’m the queen of causes…unfortunately, you also know that I would drain our savings to support them. So I try to choose a few things that really mean something to me and find ways to really make a difference, even if it’s a little difference. Sometimes a “LITTLE” difference is actually life changing to someone!

    I sure like that heart of yours!

Leave a Reply

