Skip to content

Guns, Knives, Dating & Prison

November 10, 2009

So I am starting to wonder how I am going to do in prison.  No I haven’t done anything too deserving of that yet, but I am pretty sure I am getting closer and closer by the day.  You see, I have started to realize that I am having a baby girl and there is a good chance she will be gorgeous just like her mom.  Yeah, that’s nice and cute and fun and all until she hits about 12.  Then it becomes a massive problem.  Then every boy in the world has become my worst nightmare.  See when you have a boy, you only have to worry about that one boy.  When a girl comes along, you then have to worry about EVERY SINGLE boy in the WORLD!  I am not a fan of that.

My daughter will not be dating for a good long time (at least until her mother tries to convince me otherwise…she can’t be quite convincing…) and at that point when I decide to let her out of her bedroom for the first time in her life, these young punks will have to come over to MY house and see all the large knives I keep out on the table for quick access.  I thought about golf clubs, but I don’t think that sends the right signal.  The kid should fear for his jugular if he messes with my baby girl in a way I deem inappropriate.  So yeah, like I said.  I’m working on my prison life for my future.

So You Think You Want To Date My DaughterThose of you out there with daughters, what have you done to scare the crap out of the boys?  Those of you without daughters or with daughters prior to that age, what are your plans to do?  I wanna know!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda permalink
    November 10, 2009 4:21 AM

    You just have to pray everyday that God sends her a man into her life one day that treats her like you treat her mom. I prayed many years for Kara-Kae, and look who God sent her. Thank you for taking care of her when she is so far away. Ya’ll will make great parents.

  2. November 10, 2009 7:02 AM

    Brook,

    Thinking about this a little myself (not quite in these terms 😉 ) and after much consideration and a bit of chatting with others who have daughters, I think the “right” tactic (at least for me) is two fold.

    1.) You gotta raise her with the sense to pick a good guy (easier said than done, but I’m leaving it at that)
    2.) You gotta impress upon the guy that in your absence, you’re trusting him to make the same decisions you would to protect your little girl, and that he’ll be held responsible should he fail in that regard (in any manner, there are outside forces at work here as well)

    I think this has great potential because if you succeed at 1.) then 2.) should be a no brainer.

    Just my thoughts 🙂

    Kris

  3. mom permalink
    November 10, 2009 8:33 AM

    ah, all the perspectives change FAST don’t they? wish I had the answers! pray pray pray 🙂

  4. Jason permalink
    November 10, 2009 11:31 AM

    I don’t have a daughter, but the best advice I have heard to fathers of daughters is to Date Your Daughter on a regular basis. When you take her out, just the two of you, on a regular basis then she will see how she should be treated. Then when the creeps try to ask her out she will catch on quickly if they don’t measure up to how her father treated her on their dates. Also I heard Ed Young say not too long ago, try and have your home as the main hub of activity when they are old enough to date. They can hang out at the house and do things with the rest of the family in a safe non-threatening environment. (though never alone in their room) If a guy is interested in your daughter – invite him over to hang out and spend time with the family. Hope this helps.

  5. mom permalink
    November 10, 2009 10:21 PM

    Hopefully you remember what your dad did when his daughters began to date….did it work?? I think it did in high school. By the time she is in college, if you haven’t taught her how to choose, it’s too late….but prayer is always necessary.

  6. dad permalink
    November 10, 2009 10:21 PM

    Oops!! The above was not mom….

Leave a Reply

