Skip to content

Facebook Illiterate

November 5, 2009

Several years ago when Facebook was just starting, I was pretty sure I was never gonna have a Facebook account.  I actually did really well for a very long time.  I made it well through the years that you had to actually be a college student to have an account.  I made it through the years of having to be a college or high school student to have one.  Then I became a youth pastor and realized, I had to get one because all of my students communicated through it.  I got it then and haven’t looked back since!

Facebook For DummiesThe truth is, though, that I really don’t know what I’m doing on Facebook.  This has become more evident to me in the last few days.  I have never really done a ton with my Facebook account other than comments, messages and twitter.  Really that’s about it.  I uploaded my first picture to Facebook a few days ago.  I don’t know if I was just having a stupid moment, but I couldn’t figure it out and it took me forever and a little help to get it.  Apparently I was looking in the wrong place.  Another thing I haven’t figured out yet is the NetworkedBlogs part of Facebook.  This is an app that helps bloggers connect their blogs and Facebook so I thought it might be a good idea for me.  I use it a little (actually a tiny bit) but that’s it.  There are pages you can do things with and widgets for your blog as well as promoting and stuff, all of which I haven’t the slightest clue how to do.

So, needless to say, I am learning Facebook about 5 years into having an account.  Good times.  It’s pretty bad that I can learn Photoshop, Dreamweaver, and how to self host a blog, but Facebook eludes me.  Maybe I should hire a junior high girl to teach me how to do all this stuff.  Man I sound old.  Wait.  No.  I think in this case I prefer just stupid.  Yeah, that’s better.  I guess it’s time to learn to read again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 10:45 AM

    our daughter can teach you. because i’m sure she’ll be better at computers by the age of 3 than we are now. scary a little bit.

  2. dad permalink
    November 5, 2009 12:14 PM

    I’d rather be old (since I am) than stupid. Since I hardly ever look at Facespace (or whatever) I am probably both.

Leave a Reply

