Skip to content

Deadbeat “Dad”

October 28, 2009

All my life (well ever since I have really known what was going on) I have wondered how anyone could ever be a deadbeat parent.  It has just never made sense in my head.  How could you not be a part of your children’s/family’s lives?  It just doesn’t make sense.  Blah, blah, blah, we didn’t mean to get pregnant, I was drunk, she doesn’t want me around, excuses, excuses, excuses.  I don’t wanna hear you stupid crap.  The fact is that you took part in something that carries major consequences with it and whether you were thinking straight or not, you knew what could happen.

Like I said before, I just can’t understand this process.  I don’t understand that decision.  I can’t rationalize it.  My wife and I are only halfway through our pregnancy and I already know that I love that little girl so much that I don’t even understand it.  How could I ever not do my job and take care of my responsibility to her and my wife?  How could I ever not be there for her?  Yes, I know there will be hard times.  Life is often full of those times.  There will be times that she doesn’t like me.  There will be times that I have to be the bad guy.  But that doesn’t change the fact that I love her more than I can explain (except that by explaining that I can’t explain it I have explained it)!  It doesn’t change the fact that I will always want the best for her and will do everything I can to help her understand these things.  She needs to know that she is loved.  She needs to know that from her daddy.

Deadbeat “dad” is NOT an option.  It’s not even a good term!  You don’t even deserve the title of dad if it is proceeded by deadbeat.  I am censoring myself right here because I can’t give it a better name other than deadbeat that doesn’t involve words that I’m not supposed to say.  I guess this just get’s me fired up.  It’s just stupid.  I don’t know that you can sanely rationalize it any other way.  It is NOT an option.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 9:55 AM

    i’m so thankful our baby girl has such a great dad. you’re amazing!

  2. triplatte permalink
    October 30, 2009 11:49 AM

    Yes, ditto what KK said…you are a great dad and will both be amazing parents! Funny…I think in paragraph 2 you just answered your own questions (in a round about way) to your blog back in July of ’08!! 😉 He he…bring on the birthday parties!!! No deadbeat dad syndrome for you!

    …And don’t be surprised if a bazillion bags of plastic balls show up on your doorstep while you guys are busy partying it up!!! :-]

Leave a Reply

