Skip to content

That Gut Feeling

October 23, 2009

Gut FeelingI’m sure there have been many times in my life when I have just known.  Actually it’s getting late right now and I can’t think of any times, but still.  You know what I mean?  Those times when you can just feel it (whatever “it” may be)?  You can just feel it in your bones.  No, not like your grandpa sitting in his rocker on the porch feeling the weather changing.  With this whole pregnancy and not knowing the sex of the baby, I have heard this conversation over and over.  My wife just knows it’s a girl.  My sister knows it’s a girl.  One of my best friend’s wife, who I haven’t seen in several months, just knew it’s a girl.  Even the random lady on the street that we had never seen before knew that it was a girl.  Crazy.

Well, I have decided that this knowing is a girl thing.  I was at first thinking it was just a pregnancy thing, but then all the other girls started chiming in.  What I’m struggling to recall is a time that a guy said, “Oh, it’s a boy/girl. I just know it.”  That never happened.  Why is that?  Is there some sort of 6th sense that girls have that no matter if they have been pregnant or not, they can just tell?  Makes me wonder what else she may “just know”.

I don’t have it.  I may get that gut feeling for plenty of other things (I’m gonna get trips, the River is going to win the pot, the next note in the song, the words to the brand new song, the next play called, the interception coming, etc,) but this is just not an area that I just know about.  I just knew that the baby would be one or the other and that the doctor would fill me in when I needed to know.  That’s all I knew.  So what else am I going to find out after every female on the planet because I didn’t already “just know”?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Reag permalink
    October 23, 2009 12:15 AM

    Yeah…I’m more like you. I guess wrong. And I could’ve sworn it was gonna be a boy! But, like you, I seem to have the “gut feeling” for other stuff. Like when people are looking for volunteers, I can always seem to know who they’re gonna pick. The song thing I definitely do. And other random stuff, but on this I was off. I guess I’m not as connected to that 6th sense as my sisters.

  2. cayce permalink
    October 23, 2009 2:04 AM

    I guess the next words in songs too…

  3. dad permalink
    October 23, 2009 7:40 AM

    I think it is just a clear indication of the superiority of the female sex. 🙂 mom

  4. dmjames permalink
    October 23, 2009 3:19 PM

    Can’t let her comment pass….KK and all the other girls had a 50/50 chance and this time pulled it off. I remember a first pregnancy once that I pegged as a boy (you) that K worried I might go off the deep end if I was wrong. I didn’t “feel it in my bones” but just wanted it to be you really bad. I think I was right on you kids about oh….50% of the time. Mostly just excited for you guys…..and us!! and her family….and our other kids….and the mob. dad

  5. October 23, 2009 3:50 PM

    YES is the answer. We do… have a 6th sense.

Leave a Reply

