Skip to content

25 Things Running Through My Head

October 22, 2009

Have Some HairbowsFor those of you that haven’t heard, I’m gonna be a daddy to a beautiful little girl!  That’s right.  I can’t wait.  But I have a lot of things to figure out and to learn.  Fortunately I know that in advance.  So as the news of a baby girl is settling in, I have had a little bit of time (one day) to think through some of the things that this means.  Yeah the obvious things that babies come with like diapers, money pit, no sleep, etc. are there, but this is a new list driven by the news of my daughter.  Here are some of the things that are running through my head now.

  • I am not a girl, nor have I ever been. How do I raise one?
  • Do all girls have to come with the drama channel?
  • How could I ever agree to let her date at the age of 16?
  • Is the age of 35 a good one to settle on?
  • Is there a way to just keep her away from EVERY boy in the world?
  • What if she looks like her mom?!
  • Wait…what if she looks like me?!  Poor girl.
  • I guess I need to learn about this estrogen thing.
  • How tomboy/girly is too tomboy/girly?
  • Do I have to go to the tea parties?
  • What age is good to let her have a Twitter, Facebook, Myspace, Future-cooler-than-dad’s-old-fads Account?
  • Does this mean that we have to watch the Lifetime channel?
  • Would I be a bad father if I taught her that the boogyman, clowns, mimes, The View, Lifetime and Tyra Banks are all a load of crap?
  • Is she ever too young to start her on 80’s Rock?
  • Since she is a girl, does that mean that mom has to answer the “where do babies come from?” question?
  • How do I get the message across to her that just because he is at church camp too doesn’t mean he is the best man in the world?
  • Do I have to let her out of the house?
  • Would it be bad to trade ballet and tap for soccer and volleyball?
  • Wait!  That means she is out of the house again.  Never mind.
  • How do I keep a baby and a dog from chewing on the same toys?
  • How do I keep a baby and a dog from chewing on each other?
  • Am I even allowed to change girl diapers?
  • Is there a way to skip past the GINORMOUS hair bows stage?
  • How will I ever live up to the man she needs me to be?
  • Guess it’s time to man up!
12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 6:05 AM

    Don’t even try to get out of changing those diapers 😉

  2. tony permalink
    October 22, 2009 7:08 AM

    well……there ain’t no parenting handbook, they say. but i disagree. you and kara kae turned out pretty darn well , i’d say. just borrow your parent’s handbook and it’ll all be OK

  3. dad permalink
    October 22, 2009 8:32 AM

    🙂 ah, this is the moment… that moment when it all comes back …. what goes around comes around… Yes, I remember those days when I said, “someday you will understand” yep, this is just the beginning of those days…
    mom, smiling

  4. dmjames permalink
    October 22, 2009 9:28 AM

    You are starting to get the idea…….dad

  5. October 22, 2009 9:29 AM

    1. I like that the picture is of Tallie’s bows. HA! My brother would be so proud.

    2. YES you are allowed to change girl diapers. But I’m not allowed to.

    3. I’m so thankful that our baby girl has such an amazing man to look up to. I’m not sure she’ll ever find a man of her own to compare to her daddy!!!!!!!

  6. October 22, 2009 10:01 AM

    Ok, Brook. I have SO many comments for you.

    1. First, you need to forget about Tyra Banks, and think Tinkerbell…it’ll come much sooner, and it involves a snotty attitude and a lot of fairy dust, aka glitter, all over your house.

    2. I do not know how you can control the actual things your daughter likes to do (drama vs. tomboy, ballet vs. soccer), but in my case sometimes you have no choice. They just are the way they are. And, I know soccer will never be big in our home, because really, mine isn’t all that coordinated at things like running. Ha ha ha!

    3. Tony loves her tea parties…you’ll actually be so jealous when she invites her stuffed bunny and not you. Especially when she’s serving invisible purple-ishious eggplant glitter sugar coffee. Mmmm.

    4. PLEASE let your wife put as many bows in that babies hair as she wants…even the ginormous ones.
    If not, she may end up putting them in your future son’s hair – of course I would never do anything like that. 😉

    5. If you plan to stay married, plan on changing girl diapers.

    6. No need to worry about your last two thoughts. God’s already given her the perfect parents…you just need to give her to Him. (You’ll never be enough anyway.) 🙂

    Hope you guys enjoy every second of all of it!!!

  7. October 22, 2009 10:02 AM

    I TOTALLY agree with Christy!!! Loved all of it!!

  8. October 22, 2009 2:03 PM

    Congrats on the upcoming baby, Brooke! Being a parent is a blast and I’m sure you’ll be great at it!

  9. Adam Dani permalink
    October 22, 2009 2:12 PM

    Yea, your pretty much hosed from now on!

  10. October 22, 2009 5:02 PM

    Raise her in the things you both love & care about and the rest works out, at least until she hits her teens, then forget it. As for 80’s rock, you better make sure she likes it. My kids love our 70’s & 80’s music, because that is what they grew up with. And I’ll bet a $1 you will be the one to throw her her first tea party. 🙂 Take things a day at a time. And as one parent to a new parent…. remain an active part of her life. Always know what she is watching, listening to where she is and who her friends are. You do this and the rest is a lot easier.

  11. Cayce permalink
    October 22, 2009 7:46 PM

    Soccer and volleyball are great (basketball too), but I’m pretty sure you would LOVE to see her in a cute little tutu! Dad, said no dating til 40, I always thought that was a little extreme. 35 sounds about right, but good luck. Hmmm…the ginormous bow thing….apparently, it’s all the rage again. Maybe because not every girl was traumatized with them like I was. I’m sure they will be cute on your little one though!

  12. aaron permalink
    October 26, 2009 9:24 AM

    Bro, you are going to be an amazing father. The fact that all these curiosities and thoughts are running through your mind [and the (glaringly) obvious fact that you are already in love with her] proves that your heart is in the right place.

    You have plenty to fear, but nothing to worry about.

Leave a Reply

