Skip to content

One Thing I Don’t Question

October 21, 2009

Thinking Man

This is our first pregnancy so we have all kinds of questions.  We are always having to read things (well she is doing the reading) or google things or call people.  Is this medicine ok?  Is this pain ok?  When can we do this?  When will the baby do this?  And on and on and on.  This is bound to happen.  Even someone who is very medical will still have questions surrounding their first pregnancy.  We are learning as we go and we are ok with that.  But occasionally we have those times when it just seems like there is too much that we don’t know.  How will we do this for the baby?  How will we keep the baby safe?  How will I know what to do if this happens?  And so on.

I don’t think there is anything wrong with the overwhelmed feeling.  As long as you don’t let it kill you then I think it could be a good thing.  You get overwhelmed because there is a lot that you don’t know so you go and research those things.  You get overwhelmed because there is a lot to do so you prioritize and get started.  But throughout the whole thing there are a few things that I just don’t question.  I don’t question that I love the baby.  I don’t question that I love my wife.  I don’t question that God is in control.  I may not always live like these things are not in question, but deep down inside I know the truth.

But there is one thing that I don’t ever question.  I don’t question at all the fact that my wife is/will be an excellent mother.  I have no doubts about that.  Yes there will be times that she will mess up.  After all, she isn’t perfect (just really close).  But even knowing that screw ups will happen, I know without a doubt that she will be a great mother.  She does/will love the baby.  She does/will care for the baby.  She does/will sacrifice for the baby.  Knowing this is huge.  It takes a lot of worries off my mind.  I know that my children will be loved.  I know that they won’t be neglected.  It is really awesome to not worry about those things.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dmjames permalink
    October 21, 2009 9:21 AM

    Just as you indeed will be a fabulous father. love you, mom

  2. cayce permalink
    October 21, 2009 10:20 AM

    Agreed. With what you said and what mom said.

  3. dmjames permalink
    October 21, 2009 11:13 AM

    When she KNOWS you both love her no matter what, that is 99% of the battle. You both will be awsome mom and dad. dad

Leave a Reply

