Skip to content

One Church, Multiple Locations

October 13, 2009

A few mornings ago I was up getting ready to leave for work and I put on a black hoodie that I have from LifeChurch.tv.  While on staff at LC.tv your closet becomes overrun by LifeChurch.tv clothing and t0 stop wearing them altogether would cost me a bunch of money in replacing shirts.  So I haven’t.  But as I was putting this hoodie on I happened to look down and read the phrase that is printed on it.  It says “One Church, Multiple Locations”.  For LifeChurch.tv and many other churches with satellite campuses, this phrase is a way of saying that they have several smaller campuses meeting separately but acting and joining together as one larger church.  Good stuff.

One Church Multiple Locations

But as I stood there for a moment (partly because it was really really early in the morning) and thought about it I started to think about that phrase.  I have heard it so many times and never thought about it like this before.  What if that wasn’t just a given church’s phrase?  What if that was really true?  What would happen if we became one CHURCH in multiple locations?  What if instead of being a million different denominations and rival churches across town we became one united CHURCH?  If we could just join together and agree on some basic Biblical truths about Christ and salvation it would be huge!  What if we weren’t about the name of our pastor or the name of the church and all about the name of Jesus?  Think about all the things we could join together to accomplish.  How would the “secular” world’s opinions of Christians change?  So we have different methods and do things differently.  So our order of experience is not the same.  So we don’t call it a service.  So what!?  Those things don’t matter!  the love of Christ is what matters.

I don’t think I could imagine all the things that God would do through a community of churches that while differing in methods all agreed on the message and worked together.  It would be insane!  Why can’t this be the theme of the Church?  I think it should.  For the past several years there have been thousands of churches that join together for a month for One Prayer.  This is a huge start.  They are putting aside their petty differences and getting past stupid rivalries and aiming for one goal.  The fruit of it has been amazing.  God has been all over it.  What if we could take it past that to another level and move beyond denominations to be the CHURCH?  Then we could all be satellite churches for God’s church.  That would be awesome.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. dmjames permalink
    October 13, 2009 1:55 PM

    I think this is what Christ meant in John 17 wanting us to be one. dad

  2. October 13, 2009 3:03 PM

    Why in the world would churches like each other? It’s not like we’re going for the same thing or anything. Duh.

    I like you.

  3. J Pettigrew permalink
    October 14, 2009 10:05 AM

    Right on bro!! I couldn’t have said it better myself!

  4. October 17, 2009 11:13 PM

    There you go crazy talking again…. you must have taken one too many spills on that there Wipeout TV show! Seriously, good stuff though! I always tell people that living overseas “messed me up” because I got to actually see people from different denominations working together. I hope we as the American Church wake up before it’s too late!

    After reading your blog post, I thought you may enjoy this (it won’t hurt my feelings if you think it’s terrible or that I’m an idiot), just thought about it after reading your post.

    http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=131501127071&id=549770727&ref=share

    Hope you guys are doing well! Let us know how we can be praying for you.

Leave a Reply

