Skip to content

Coldplay, Gas, Chocolate, Flowers, Poker, etc.

October 9, 2009

As we all know, the financial world is in a very big and flailing swan dive.  You know the kind.  It’s like when you were learning to dive and you had the normal dive down so now you want to try to do a cooler dive.  Enter the next step up dive: the swan dive.  The only thing is, you aren’t the best diver in the world so your swan dive is awkward, flapping, uncoordinated and heading for a rough landing.  Apparently that’s my picture of the dollar.  But the good thing is that if you keep working on that swan dive, eventually you start get it figured out.

Throughout the last few years as the market has come crashing down we have all started pinching pennies.  Our tips aren’t as big, our tithe is smaller, vacations are cut short, or we opt out of air conditioning for the oscillating fan because “it works just as well”.  I mean seriously.  Even if you have been smart about your finances the media isn’t going to let you forget.  The news is freaking out about it.  Every car commercial is practically begging you to buy a car by doing everything but making them actually affordable and reliable.  Yet, I think I am seeing a common trend.  I started actually noticing it recently in my own life and then realized that I’m not the only one.  We all do it.  We pay to do what we love.

A Few Of My Favorite ThingsWe pay to do what we love.  Even during a massive recession we shell out the cash (or credit card used just like a debit card if you are us).  I started catching on to this whole thing when I realized that I love where I life.  I love my town.  I love my beach.  So I am willing to sacrifice the time and money to drive longer than I have sworn all my life I would do.  Another example in my life is paying for gas to go play basketball with the guys every week.  We only play for a couple hours but I drive 45 minutes to get there and still believe it is absolutely worth it.  But there is more than that.  We are trying to knock out our debt as the baby is on the way, yet still I love to treat my wife to the things that she enjoys.  Of course she is preggo so that tends to range from a frosty to steak to flowers to notes, but still.  I love to see her happy and excited and doing things she enjoys so out comes the wallet!

Think about your life.  I’m sure there is something that you love that you pay for.  Maybe it isn’t directly money, but your time or your energy.  We pay to do the things that we love.  We pay for Disneyland (well some of us do…others of us just don’t go there).  We pay for tanning.  We pay for hair coloring.  We pay for dog food.  We pay for poker.  We pay for concerts.  We pay for conferences.  I’m definitely not saying this stuff is bad by any means, but just stop and think for a minute.  What are you paying for?  Your life and your wallet speak the truth.  Don’t neglect the most important things you love (family, church, God) and blame the recession.  Get your priorities straight, stop wasting time and money, and pay for the things you love.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 2:41 PM

    So since you love me the MOST, does that mean I get more chocolate, flowers and steak?? 🙂

  2. dmjames permalink
    October 9, 2009 5:50 PM

    You are catching on…you pay for what she likes!!

Leave a Reply

