Skip to content

gniyarP Backwards

September 16, 2009

Last night as I was getting ready for bed, I was thinking and praying about the Kingsfield move to the theaters and all the details that are still being worked out.  But as I was praying I heard myself say “please help us work all these things out”.  That of course caught my attention and distracted me for a few minutes.  I wasn’t asking for God to work things out.  I was asking for God to help me work things out.  Praying with the wrong motivation is like praying backwards.  It doesn’t make much sense.

I’m not saying that it is a bad thing to pray help us work things out, but I think we do need to be careful of our motives.  Now when I was praying for God to help me work things out, I wasn’t really thinking about getting things to work out so that it will make me look better.  My heart was in the right place this time, but at the same time, it isn’t much of a step for me (a person that deals with trying to do things and work things out on my own) to be thinking and worrying about how I am going to make all these things happen.

So I want to pray that God work these things out.  I want to pray that I follow His lead and do the things He wants me to do.  Enough about me.  We already know that I am not capable of doing all this on my own.  That’s why He is in charge.  Now I just need to get out of the way and let Him do His thing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tony permalink
    September 16, 2009 4:13 PM

    hey – hope the move goes well! i liked this bloggage and it encouraged me to say this….I would bet that God put you there to help pull it all off, so asking Him to help you do that ain’t too bad a prayer after all! blessings

    (did you break your e string the first time you played at Kingfield?)

  2. dmjames permalink
    September 16, 2009 9:52 PM

    I know I can’t do anything of eternal value unless HE does it whether thru me or in spite of me. When we recognize that, I believe we are used in ways we may never see until we see Him in the next life. Even if everything got done just exactly right and went according to plan, there may be no eternal result unless the HS is present and working. You have been used by Him in more ways than you know….praying for you guys. dad

Leave a Reply

