Skip to content

God Is In Control

September 9, 2009

Long before Paris Hilton was around and…well…I guess not quite as long ago as Paris, France, there was Twila Paris.  If you listened to Christian music in the early 1990’s you know of Twila Paris.  If fact more than just know of her, you know and can sing her hit song God Is In Control.  Even more, you know it so well that anytime someone says something along the lines of God is in control, you can no longer pay attention to what is being said because all you can see is that awesome 90’s music video and have the song stuck in your head.  But beyond that, the words are true.  God is in control.  Try as we might, we just aren’t in control.  We want desperately to be in control of our lives, but if you are like me, time and time again, I prove to myself that I shouldn’t be the one in charge.  If only I would listen to my past.  (Here is the video just in case you haven’t seen it in many years and want to reminisce.)

Well, Sunday was one of those days that just reinforces this point and again drives it home.  Sunday mornings are usually pretty crazy, but this one was worse.  Of course I told everyone to be there 30 minutes later than normal because we didn’t have as much to go over.  Yeah, that helped.  Everything seemed to start ok, but then we started to realize that things were messed with during the week and were completely jacked and it seemed that nothing was working correctly.  We had issues with the cameras.  We had issues with the audio.  We had issues with the projectors.  We had issues with Pro Presenter.  Then to top it off one of the volunteer’s had car problems.  Needless to say, and to make a long story short (which I’m not good at…just ask my wife) we had problems today.

I tried and tried to fix stuff.  I tried finding others that might be able to fix it.  But when it came down to it, it didn’t matter at that moment.  God was in control.  He knew we were having technical difficulties.  He knew my mind was all over the place.  But more importantly, He knew that He had a plan for the day regardless of what I wanted that to be.  And He showed up!  He took over.  Life was madness while I was trying to run it by myself.  Then I finally got to the point that I just couldn’t do it and I couldn’t take it anymore.  And then of course my last option (which of course is the best and should be my first and only option) is to just give it all up and let Him do His thing knowing that I am not the boss.

God Is In Control

When it really comes down to it, I love it when I can get my stupid butt out of the way and realize that He is completely in control.  That is when He uses me.  That is when He really does great things.  Now I just need to do that more often.

One Comment leave one →
  1. dad permalink
    September 9, 2009 8:40 PM

    The hard part is not screwing things up before He shows up…
    St Paul is pretty cool!!

Leave a Reply

