Skip to content

God’s Confirmation

September 2, 2009

Now that the baby is out of the bag we finally get to include everyone in all of this craziness that is pregnancy!  No, ladies, I am not claiming that I have a clue what being pregnant is like, but I can tell that it is definitely crazy.

On July 6 at 6:49 AM I was informed that we had a little one growing and that I should plan on cleaning the house for the visit that the stork would be paying us in early spring of ’10.  (Is that just 10?  010 just doesn’t seem to work.  Is it then 2010?  That will get pretty wordy for the next decade.)  As you all know, we are very excited, but that’s enough of the pregnancy test story.  I wanna skip ahead to that night.  For some reason I (or God) decided it was time to open up my paper Bible (which has been sidelined for quite some time with the entrance of YouVersion on the computer and iPhone) and read where I had left off last time.  I really think this was all God because I hadn’t done that in a really long time and just felt like it was a good night to read from the paper Bible instead of the iPhone.  Well, God gave me this Scripture to read.

Don’t you see that children are God’s best gift? The fruit of the womb his generous legacy? Like a warrior’s fistful of arrows are the children of a vigorous youth. Oh, how blessed are you parents, with your quivers full of children! Your enemies don’t stand a chance against you; you’ll sweep them right off your doorstep.

~ Psalm 127:3-5

12 WeeksI love it.  To me it is God’s confirmation.  This is a gift.  This child growing (that at the moment is a little bigger than a lime) is a little birthday present from heaven.  It’s pretty easy to get caught up in the midst of pregnancy and completely forget or ignore the fact that He alone gives breath.  We didn’t create this baby (well, in that way…yes we did).  We are not the ones forming it.  God is doing all that.  He is building this gift.  I’m not questioning timing.  I’m not questioning if I’m ready.  I’m not saying I know what I’m doing, but I do know that this little citrus sized being is a gift.  Now we just have to raise it well and pray that it really does become a weapon for God.

(I think I like that.  Maybe the kid needs a weapon for a name.  Shotgun.  Dagger.  Nun-chuck.  Missle.  Silencer.  Yeah.  That would be a manly gift from God!  Of course if it is a girl, it would be like Butterfly Knife or Throwing Stars.  Oh!  And if there were twins they could be Bo and Arrow!  Wow that would be awesome.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 9:44 AM

    Well said baby!! It’s sometimes hard to remember how amazing it is and the miracle that’s going on inside of me when I feel yucky!

  2. September 3, 2009 11:15 AM

    I know a boy named Hammer. You can use it if you want to.

  3. September 3, 2009 1:34 PM

    God bless you all.

  4. dmjames permalink
    September 3, 2009 3:26 PM

    That scripture(from a paper Bible) gave us reassurance many times early on when we wondered….no, you and your sibs have always been a gift that only God could have done in our lives. We couldnot have been blessed any more…. Another scripture that meant alot to us was Psm 139.
    you will make a great dad….

  5. September 3, 2009 8:41 PM

    funny guy…no seriously though, bo and arrow… that rocks! It’s just gotta pass the wife test first…good luck with that one… or any of those names for that matter…haha

Trackbacks

  1. bring it on «

Leave a Reply

