Skip to content

Happy Birthday To Me

August 28, 2009

The Best Birthday Present EverYup.  It’s my birthday!  Good times.  If only it was filled with Transformers, M.A.S.K., G.I. Joe, and LEGOs like it used to be.  That would be great wouldn’t it?  We could sit around and have wars.  Then once your team was all dead you could play War, the card game, work on the Rubix Cube, or go build a fort out of anything and everything.  But I guess times change and people expect us to grow up.  Ha.  Yeah right!  You all can do your growing up thing and I’ll go build a fort out of LEGOs or my Transformers and Micro Machines to live in!

But I guess part of us does grow up.  This is my last birthday before I turn 30.  Wow.  I’m really glad I don’t feel old enough to be 30.  I hope I don’t next year either.  This also marks my last birthday prior to children.  Not really sure how that’s gonna affect my birthday, but I would be stupid to assume that it wouldn’t.  Wait!  Maybe that means I get an extra gift from the kid too!  Of course then they will start making macaroni pictures in Sunday School and that will be my birthday gift.  Those are super sweet and cute and all those other girl words that tend to follow super.  It just will be different.

So here’s to 28 completed years of life.  Bring on the next one!  I have a feeling it will be a very eventful one.

PS – Comments on the blog are a great birthday present for those of you that weren’t gonna buy me something!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 8:19 AM

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BROOK!! Hope you have a great day, its gorgeous outside..a perfect orange county beach day!! Enjoy!!
    …and from our experience your birthdays only get sweeter and filled with more joy as the little ones join in to celebrate. We try to do a weekend or night getaway for our birthdays and let me tell you there is nothing so much as treasured as a night away with your spouse when you have kids..so yes our birthdays around here are a lot more exciting when the kids came….hehehe

  2. August 28, 2009 8:23 AM

    Happy Birthday Brook!!
    Its a perfect beach day here in Huntington Beach, hope you get to enjoy it!!
    We try to plan a night away or weekend away for our birthdays and since having kids those weekends away or so much more exciting and anticipated a whole lot more!! A whole 3 days without kids to sleep, nap and eat without food throwing is aaaamazing!!
    So your birthday after the little one arrives will be incredibly wonderful..and yes you will probably get some macaroni necklaces…. so sweet!!

  3. Melanie Harris permalink
    August 28, 2009 10:34 AM

    Brooke… happy birthday…I do suspect that however old you are, you will always remain an 8 year old boy inside… I still see that in my 40-somethin’ boy, at home! And from you, I expect nothing less!!!

  4. August 28, 2009 10:36 AM

    I LOVE YOU BIRTHDAY BOY!!!!!!!!!!! I sure wish I could spend your whole day celebrating with you! Next year! Hooray for macaroni pictures, we just can’t laugh at it where the kid can hear, you know that scars them for life 😉

  5. August 28, 2009 12:26 PM

    Happy Birthday Dude–

    I got you the same thing I got your last year. I hope it fits and you like the color.

    🙂

    –DW

  6. dad permalink
    August 28, 2009 3:31 PM

    29…I can’t really get my mind around that. I still remember the fun of when you were 4,5,6,7,8 etc. Sure glad I’m not old….I hope you have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

