Skip to content

The Birthday Gift

August 20, 2009

Monty Python's SpamalotGone are the days that we have all our friends over to our house or to Chuck E. Cheese’s for a birthday party where they all bring numerous gifts of G.I. Joe’s, Transformers, LEGOs, and MicroMachines.  That’s too bad.  That would be amazing!  But, apparently as we get older we don’t do those things any more.  Yeah, we still get all our friends together and have cake or some other sort of dessert, but we generally just go to a restaurant or do something else that our younger selves would have been bored out of their minds doing.  And with this change you start having to make decisions about your birthday gifts instead of just which present do I open first.

Well, my birthday is coming up next week and I am having to make one of those decisions.  I am struggling with it right now so I need your help.  For about the same price I have a couple options that I haven’t been able to choose between.

  1. Spamalot – For those of you that don’t know what Spamalot is let me tell you that it is the best thing to come out of Broadway in the past…well…ever!  The guys of Monty Python have created a Broadway show out of the movie Monty Python And The Holy Grail.  I actually went to see it last year and I know from experience that it is insanely funny and amazing.
  2. CD/MP3/Aux Player for my Jeep – This is not too difficult to explain.  Everyone has one.  Except me.  My Jeep has a cassette player and it no longer works.  Bummer.  So I have the radio and that is it.  It is illegal (I believe) to have both earbuds in while driving so I need to do something, right?

Both of these options have immediate gratification, but Spamalot has the gratification for the night (and then the lasting memory in my head).  The CD player will be great to have in the car for a long time coming.  Spamalot will be much better over the course of a shorter period of time while the CD player will be good for a longer period.

So you tell me!  Which one do I choose!?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2009 11:57 AM

    If you let your wife choose for you, you might get NOTHING 😉

  2. Melanie permalink
    August 20, 2009 12:34 PM

    Spamalot and some portable speakers for your ipod! If ya have a “system” someone ELSE might like it too, and TAKE it….

    …and don’t they have adapters to hook up to ipods/old systems yet….?

  3. August 21, 2009 12:00 AM

    I am thinking of gifting my husband mp3 player

  4. dad permalink
    August 21, 2009 1:40 PM

    I think you should just have a Lego party.

  5. August 21, 2009 2:38 PM

    EASY call bro. SPAM-a-Lot!..huge, lifetime memories – ….then, smile and turn on the charm for “Family & Friends” to dial in a BJ-Fund for the electronics!

  6. August 21, 2009 4:43 PM

    I’m with your dad. I think we should have a kid party for you, since next year you’ll be thirty and have to be a grown up then.

Leave a Reply

