Skip to content

The Universe Is Real Big

August 17, 2009

New Horizons SpacecraftAs I was reading through some random blogs last night I came across a blog of the 15 Fastest Things In The Universe.  As a male, this of course appealed to me.  I clicked.  It was a pretty cool list.  One of the speedy things on the list is a relatively new spacecraft called New Horizons.  Yeah, so the name is pretty weak for this unmanned, robotic spaceship, but I guess when you can travel 36,360 miles per hour you can call yourself whatever you want.  If someone makes fun of your name, just turn on your boosters and you will be long gone in the blink of an eye.

The New Horizons spacecraft was launched by NASA in 2006 and is headed for Pluto to start its journey.  The crazy thing is that traveling over 36,000 MPH still won’t get it to Pluto until 2015!  Seriously?  36,000 MPH and it takes it 9 YEARS to get there.  Wow.  Talk about denying yourself instant gratification.  That takes some planning!  But it got me thinking.  It takes one of the fastest things we have ever seen 9 years to get to the last “planet” (it’s no longer a planet right?) in our little galaxy.  With the telescopes they have now they can see so much farther beyond that!  If it takes 9 years to get to the last one of our little Milky Way, how long would it take just to get to just the next closest planet?  The space out there is insane!

With that in mind think about this.  While New Horizons is traveling 318.5 million miles this year, God is still bigger.  The 9th planet in our solar system is more than 2.8 billion miles away from us and God created hundreds more even farther out.  When you think in this size it gets pretty difficult to wrap your mind around it.  We sing songs as little kids that say He’s got the whole world in His hands.  But I still have to stop and be reminded that He has the entire universe in His hands…welll…maybe in His arms.  He created it all.  He is in complete control over a planet almost 3 billion miles away from us as well as galaxies so far away I can’t even comprehend the zeros following the number and yet He is also right here with us.

That’s it.  I’m gonna stop trying to wrap my little bitty blog around it.  Whether my understanding of the numbers or my math is correct it doesn’t matter.  It’s way the crap out there.  Just think about those numbers and how they don’t even come close to our God.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2009 1:31 PM

    I love trying to wrap my head around theoretical astrophysics and spend time thinking of our God as the creator of the multiverse.

    Light travels at 300,000 kilometers per second.

    • The Sun is only one of the more than 200 billion stars in our galaxy, the Milky Way.
    • The Sun is 30,000 light-years from the center of our galaxy.
    • The Sun is 93 million miles from Earth, yet it is 270,000 times closer than the next nearest star.
    • The Milky Way is one of billions of galaxies in the universe. There are as many galaxies as there are stars in the Milky Way.
    150 million km earth to sun…

    Isaiah says “He stretches out the heavens like a canopy, and spreads them out like a tent to live in.” (40:22) and somewhere 30,000 light years off centre, there’s an atom, making up a small part of the fabric, and there’s an electron in that atom, and in that electron, a theoretical quark… with 6 billion souls living on it.

    Wow…makes my head hurt… in a good way.

  2. reagankjames permalink
    August 17, 2009 9:20 PM

    You know what’s gonna make me feel really old? Telling my kids that “in my day, Pluto was a planet. There were 9. We even had a saying!!” And now it’s my very earthly mother just served us nine. the end. Served us nine what?!?! Man that bothers me. Oh well. But yeah, I like to think about that and it just blows me away. I’m sure my face gets all contorted when I think about it. Cool stuff…

Leave a Reply

