Skip to content

Top 10 Reasons To Blog

August 10, 2009

To Blog Or Not To BlogOver the past several years the blogging world has exploded.  It seems that just a few years ago the only people that blogged were those that were really into writing, wrote books, or worked for the media in some way.  That has all changed.  Now it is super easy to get a blog started and it costs you nothing to let the world know what you think about ANYTHING!

A few years ago the last thing on my mind was writing a blog.  I have been given journals over the years and tried and tried to start journaling, but it just never felt right.  I always felt like I was forcing my male self to do something that only junior high girls were supposed to do (not that I am faulting any guys that have been successful at doing that).  It just wasn’t for me.  Then for some reason, one day just over a year ago, I felt the need to start writing.  And with that, I was caught up in the world of blogging and it hasn’t let up yet.  So why blog?  Here are my top 10 reasons for having a blog.

  1. Bandwagon – Everyone else is doing it so why shouldn’t I.  This is where you insert comments about facebook, Twitter, MySpace, and mom’s saying something about jumping off a bridge (which never really made me feel bad about my decisions, but always made me want to find a bridge with deep enough water to jump off).
  2. Journaling – Despite my best efforts, if you look back through the 200+ posts that I have written there are, no doubt, several that are just me journaling.  Blogging is a great way for me to get my thoughts out of my head and deal with them.
  3. Innovation/Conversations – We don’t all live in the same place and don’t have party lines on the phones anymore.  If you don’t know what a party line is go text your grandparents.  Having large discussions isn’t always doable.  Blogging let’s you get your thoughts out there and allows others to share their thoughts and opinions.  When you have an idea, blogging helps you get it out there and share it with others to help mold your ideas.
  4. Creativity – Blogging lets you be as creative as you want to be!  You can be as boring as only linking other people’s work or as creative as coming up with everything on your own.  You can express yourself in the style and content of your blog.
  5. Freedom – With a blog you are not restrained at all.  You can write about anything you want.  You can write for as long as you want.  Now of course this could affect your readership, but still.  You are free to have it your way.
  6. Platform – Blogging can be your platform.  It can be your voice.  Maybe you don’t have a key role in your community or society, but blogging gives you another chance to express your ideas and concerns.  Of course you could always go stand on the street corner with a box and a mega phone, but who has the energy for that!
  7. Memory – Just like journaling in many ways, blogging is like internet Ginkgo Biloba!  It has been posted on the internet.  That means as long as you don’t cancel you can go back to it many years later and see the pictures you took of your newborn.
  8. Contribution – Do you have a thought that could revolutionize everything around you?  Maybe it changes the way church happens.  Maybe it changes the focus of government.  I don’t know what that would be for you, but blogging could be the key to getting this new thought out to the world.
  9. Connection – Writing and reading blogs allows you to stay connected to those that you love.  Maybe it’s friends that lives on the other side of the world.  If they blog, you don’t have to wake up in the middle of the night to converse with them.  Read about their week.  Check out pictures of their kids.  Leave them comments!
  10. Change – As the world changes, many media styles are becoming more and more ancient.  For now there are still some uses for magazines and newspapers, but I would argue that their usefulness is quickly being burnt up.  The internet is becoming more effective, instantaneous and less expensive.  Now without having to wait until the morning news, images and ideas spread the winds of change immediately.  Iran is a massive example of this.  As the government banned all reporting, the internet and cell phones took their place.

So what about you?  Why do you blog?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    August 11, 2009 7:26 AM

    to keep up with the things that are in your mind and going in on your family! 🙂

  2. August 14, 2009 6:11 AM

    I blog because the stories write themselves in my head. I’ve been keeping “Grandma” baby books on Tommy and Tina since their birth, but I want to share my happy stories with others.

Leave a Reply

