Skip to content

A Sorta Anniversary

August 4, 2009

So I haven’t been married that long and so I am not really up on what anniversaries you are supposed to celebrate and which ones you just remember and say, “oh by the way, _____ happened today ______ ago.”  I’m just not sure.  But today falls into one of those categories and since I don’t know which category it is, I’m gonna split the difference and write a blog about it.  How does that sound, people?

Two years ago this past weekend I talked my then girlfriend into coming on family vacation with us.  This was a big deal because our family vacations consist of 3-4 families with several kids and so we are already packed into whatever it is we are vacationing in trying to make the trip as cheap as possible.  So they parents decided on a rule that no girl/boyfriends are allowed to come for anyone.  They must be at least engaged if not married.  That was hurdle number one.  Hurdle number two was actually getting her to the vacationing spot.  So long story short, I convinced the family it was ok to do so because we were planning on being married and just didn’t have a ring yet and she got the privilege of riding around 16 hours in the cars with my family!  (Ha.  I flew.)

So hurdles were jumped and we were both on my family vacation in Cuchara Valley, Colorado.  One of the things we had planned for the trip was getting some cool backgrounds (that just fill my mom up) for taking some engagement pictures…even though we were not technically engaged.  So a couple days in we started wandering around the mountains and taking pictures.  In the midst of that I decided not to go with the scoreboard at the next OU/OSU game or baking it into a cake and whip out the ring that I actually did already have and pop the question!  And of course I was super smooth.  I rambled of some stuff about love and the price of the ring and she “got something in her eye” and her eyes watered and then she took the ring from me.  I’m pretty sure she said yes in there somewhere too, but it was all a whirlwind.

Ok, so maybe it wasn’t quite like that, but still.  Two years ago today, the love of my life was tricked into saying she wanted to spend the rest of her life with me!  I’m so glad she did and I can’t believe we waited seven more months to get married!  That was insane!  But I love her so much and she puts up with all my crap.  I couldn’t ask for anything more!  The is everything I ever wanted and so much more!  I can’t imagine how awesome the rest of our lives will be together!  Love you, baby!

Ok.  No more sappy love stuff.

Funny Proposal

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 11:26 AM

    Thanks for spending all that money on a piece of tin. I happen to love it, and I happen to love you MORE! (I know…hard to believe). Happy sorta Anniversary. Does that mean I get presents and more diamonds?

  2. August 4, 2009 11:33 AM

    oh my lot’s to learn !!!! Never just remember they are ALL so important you don’t have to celebrate lavishly but do celebrate

  3. dad permalink
    August 4, 2009 2:41 PM

    You did good….you are as blessed as I am.

  4. triplatte permalink
    August 4, 2009 4:46 PM

    so glad todd convinced you to bypass all the foolishness and just go for it! 😉 love you guys!

  5. August 4, 2009 5:40 PM

    Umm for real triplatte! if it hadn’t been for todd we might not be in this “situation” 🙂

Leave a Reply

