Skip to content

An Andy Stanley Nugget Of Tweadership

July 21, 2009

NOTE: First off, I want to make sure that no one thinks that I am supporting or promoting the use of the term nugget as referred to ANYTHING other than pieces of gold or fried chicken.  Just want to be clear.  Drives me crazy.

Twitter Logo

Moving on.  One of the main things I love about Twitter is the accessibility to the great, inspiring and thought-provoking tweets from many people that I don’t have contact with on a normal basis.  (For those of you that don’t know what Twitter is…well, sorry.  I’m glad you use the internet, though.  That’s step one.  After you figure out Facebook and realize that no one uses My Space anymore, then head on over to Twitter, check it out and follow me!)  It’s great.  If you so choose, you can read tons of thoughts and quotes (many times a little too much) from leaders like John Piper, Perry Noble, Craig Groeschel, Andy Stanley, Steven Furtick, and many more.  I recently saw a quote from Andy Stanley that I thought was great and want to focus on.

“When your memories exceed your dreams the end is near.”  I didn’t hear him say this and I don’t know the context he used it in, but I’m pretty sure he isn’t speaking to all the old people out there and referring to a lifetime of memories and buying the farm.  I think he is speaking to leaders of the church.  When our memories of how it used to be are more important to us or more prominent to us than the dreams that God has given us, our time in leadership is coming to an end.  I don’t ever want to get to the point in my ministry that I am so satisfied with what has already taken place that I am no longer looking forward to what God can and will still do!  I am NOT saying that we shouldn’t be excited that X number of people gave their lives to Christ last week.  We absolutely should!  But we shouldn’t be content with those people and think that we have arrived.  We are only being used by God as a part of something so much bigger than we could ever dream up!  So let’s be excited about the things that God has done, but realize that He still has so much more He wants to do!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jason Waymire permalink
    July 21, 2009 8:24 AM

    Andy said that at the Drive Conference in 2008. Good stuff

  2. Jason Waymire permalink
    July 21, 2009 8:28 AM

    By the way he said he was quoting Michael Hammer, who was some brilliant business guy who was listed as one of Time Magazine’s 25 most influential or important or awesome people….

    Yes I am a nerd and keep notes from conferences I attend…and reference them often.

  3. dmjames permalink
    July 21, 2009 10:38 PM

    I agree, you lose the dreams…you might as well go join heaven so you can get more dreams. dad

Leave a Reply

