Skip to content

Commercials Are Ridiculous

July 18, 2009

It never ceases to amaze me what companies say in their commercials.  If you don’t know what I mean, just stop using the DVR for the length of a game or movie and you will see.  No don’t mute it.  All you have to do is pay attention to the commercials.  They say the craziest things.  Today I saw one that was a gum commercial but the ad never said anything or had anything to do with gum until the last couple seconds when they said what it was.  I saw the commercial twice and I still have no idea what the brand is.

Auto Insurance CompaniesFor those of you that are like us and don’t have the DVR (even though we wish we did) you know that this list of ridiculous commercials could go on for forever.  But the ones that drive me crazy the most are the auto insurance commercials.  Now don’t get me wrong, I love Dennis Haysbert.  Really I do.  Every time I see him on an Allstate commercial it makes me glad that I’m in good hands.  But that’s not what I’m talking about. I’m not talking about him.  I’m not talking about being animated.  I’m not even talking about the gecko that is super annoying.  I wanna focus on the savings.  Did you know that there is a chance to save a little money if you switched companies?  Even if you don’t pay attention to commercials I don’t think you could miss this.  The thing that bothers me the most is that each company brags that people that switched from another company to them saved X amount of dollars.  Well good freakin’ deal.  There is a reason that every company says that.  Haven’t figured it out?  Wanna know why?  Because no one and I mean NO ONE switches insurance companies to pay more.  Maybe you get more coverage or more policies and end up paying more, but everyone switches to save money.

If you think about it that way, it isn’t near as impressive for the companies that someone switched to Progressive/Geico/Allstate/Farmers/Whoever and saved $300.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. natashamay permalink
    July 19, 2009 12:00 AM

    The good news is if you switch companys every two months, by the end of the year they’ll pay you to be their customers!!

  2. dmjames permalink
    July 19, 2009 6:56 PM

    The national ones are one thing…the local quite another. I used to think Oklahoma had a corner on the market for bad local commercials. However Anchorage has them beat. I have never seen so many hick ads. We should be paid to not have a DVR and suffer through them. I can’t wait til we get back on DishTV. I may give up TV before then.

Leave a Reply

