Skip to content

The Beauty Of Imagery

July 10, 2009

Yesterday I posted about a couple of my favorite songs with lyrics that paint amazing images.  I want to stay there for another post.  Actually I want to stay on one specific song for this post.  I’m gonna go back to the song How He Loves.

As you may have read yesterday, the lyrics are beautiful.  This song to me is just an amazing picture of the way that my God loves me.  At least that was until today.  Today as I was writing out the chords and lyrics to this song getting ready for this up coming Sunday, I stumbled onto a video on YouTube of the author of How He Loves, John Mark McMillan.  I didn’t even really know what I was clicking on until I started reading the description as he started talking.  He is leading worship at some sort of conference and telling the story of the song.  For those of you that like the song or have heard it or sing it in church, this is absolutely worth watching.  I haven’t wanted to get the song out of my head and I can’t think about it like I did before, just as another great worship song.  The video is a little long, but for all you worship leaders out there (and for everyone else for that matter) I think it is definitely a must see!

He is jealous for me 
Love’s like a hurricane, I am a tree bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy 
When all of a sudden, I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory 
And I realize just how beautiful You are and how great Your affections are for me.
We are His portion and He is our prize, 
Drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes 
If grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking 
So heaven meets earth like a sloppy wet kiss and my heart turns violently inside of my chest 
I don’t have time to maintain these regrets when I think about the way He loves us

Are we that willing to serve our God?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 19, 2009 2:06 PM

    Wow! I have to admit that I wasn’t expecting to cry when I was looking ‘over your blog Brook! That was…I can’t find the right word… but touching is one.

Leave a Reply

