Skip to content

Written Pictures

July 8, 2009

I’m really not sure that it gets much better lyrically than a well written picture.  Make sense?  I absolutely love it when the lyrics of a song just completely show you everything through the descriptive words.  One of my favorite songs like this is Make A Joyful Noise/I Will Not Be Silent by David Crowder*Band.

Running through the forest, dive into the lake, bare feet on beaches white
Standing in the canyon, painted hills around, the wind against my skin
Every ocean, every sea, every river, every stream
Every mountain, every tree, every blade of grass will sing

When I hear it I can just feel the sand, the wind.  I can see the hills all around me.  Amazing.  I can hear all of creation crying out to their Maker!  That’s what they do!  They live it!  I so wish I did.  I wish I could just leave my flesh aside and truly join in with creation.  How insane would that be?!

Today I have been basically engulfed with the song How He Loves sung by Kim Walker.  It’s not like I have had someone forcing the song on me, but just more of the fact that I can’t get it out of my head.  But I’m not sure I want to.  This song written by John Mark McMillan is just packed full of emotion (which I’m not the best at showing) and is a new favorite of mine that draws an incredible picture.  Even as I’m writing this, I am listening to the song and it just over takes me.

He is jealous for me 
Love’s like a hurricane, I am a tree bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy 
When all of a sudden, I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory 
And I realize just how beautiful You are and how great Your affections are for me.
We are His portion and He is our prize, 
Drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes 
If grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking 
So heaven meets earth like a sloppy wet kiss and my heart turns violently inside of my chest 
I don’t have time to maintain these regrets when I think about the way He loves us

He is jealous for me.  I’m just gonna stop there.  No really.  I don’t think I can add anything to that.  I’m done.  Just go back and read them again.  Let them sink in.

Jesus Culture

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 10:17 PM

    I love that song. Kim Walker is awesome. Jesus Culture is all together good, but Kim Walker is my favorite out of all of them.

  2. dmjames permalink
    July 10, 2009 4:34 PM

    If grace is an ocean,we’re all sinking… I love that thought.

Leave a Reply

