Skip to content

What’s The Deal With Worship Music?

July 8, 2009

Grunge WorshipAs the church many times we miss the point of the music in our experiences.  I am not claiming that for all churches or that I am not guilty of this because I would be severely wrong in many cases.  But what is really the point in singing songs together while reading the words off the screen?  Do we do it because we like the songs?  Do we do it out of habit?  Do we do it because it makes us feel good?  Is it because the music is good?  Do we do it out of tradition?  What is it?  I mean if you think about it, as a friend of mine put it, it’s really a weird thing to come together and sing like that.  We really don’t do that very often outside of church.  I think that a lot of the time we just lose our focus (assuming it was directed in the right place to start with is a big jump but I hope that happens).  Our mind goes to things like the music is too loud, I don’t know this song so I will just tune out, I don’t have a good voice so I don’t sing, I don’t want people around me to hear me, etc.  But our main problem isn’t what is good or bad with the music or what we like or don’t like, but where our focus is.

When we are worried about any range of little things our focus is no longer where it should be.  We have now shifted to focusing on ourselves.  What do I want?  What do I like?  What if they hear me?  What if blah, blah, blah?  Our little world is now revolving around us and not where it should be.  If our focus is in the right direction, on God, then we stop thinking about what our neighbor thinks of our harmonizing or how we never really learned the words to this song and we starting realizing that God just wants our worship.  He wants our hearts.  When we are truly worshiping with our hearts it doesn’t matter if we know the words to the song.  It doesn’t matter if there are words to the song.  It doesn’t matter what the people next to us smell like, look like or sing like.  The ONLY thing that matters is that God knows we are just releasing everything to Him and expressing our hearts in a musical form!

Hillsong Dark StageMy prayer for our church is that we learn that worship is more than singing songs.  I hope that we can see that this time of worship music, whether long or short, is a time for us to escape our crazy selfish lives and give all that we have to our Daddy.  I want the people there on Sundays and our staff and me and my band to see this time as a time to focus on He who created us and loves us and gives up everything for us.  It is a time to reflect on how very big our God is and how everything is done because He alone allows it.  It is a time to celebrate how awesome our God is and the things that He has done.  I pray that everyone from the grandparents to the musicians to the ushers understands that music is just a gift and a creative vessel in which we can easily glorify our God.

So sing your hearts out!  Clap and shout!  Rip up that solo!  Harmonize like the Beach Boys!  But do it all for Him.  Let’s stop singing just to sing.  Let’s really make it worship from our hearts.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 12:46 PM

    AMEN! I love your heart, and your passion for Worship. You inspire me to worship more freely and focus on HIM who does all things for US!

    I love you and I’m so very proud of you!

  2. July 9, 2009 2:15 AM

    It’s the heart of every worship leader to teach people that worship is not limited to worship.

  3. ~J~ permalink
    July 9, 2009 9:20 AM

    Man, you hit a homerun with this one. I think these thoughts so often (especially Sunday morning). I think this is my favorite blog EVER!

Leave a Reply

