Skip to content

Call Me Uncle Ishmael

May 19, 2009

Yeah so maybe Uncle Ishmael doesn’t work as well I guess.  That’s OK.  Well, yesterday I officially became an uncle.  (Right?  I’m still an uncle to my brother-in-law’s kids, right?)  I’m not sure about the word “uncle” in front of my name.  Kinda weirds me out.  Uncle Brook?  It sounds so proper.  Like Pastor Brook…or Mr. Brook.  Gross.  I have even been called Uncle Randy before, but that was just because the kids couldn’t tell me and my cousin (their actual uncle apart for some reason).  Oh, well.  Since there doesn’t seem to be any sign of me growing up anytime soon, maybe by the time this little girl learns to talk we will come up with a better, less formal way of referring to me.  And just in case  you are wondering, Aunt KK is adorable.  That one can stay.

Toby and Stephanie Ringwald, my brother-in-law and sister-in-law-in-law…man I am not good at these relationship names…, had a beautiful little girl yesterday.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t afford to take my wife 1400 miles back to be there for the birth, but hey, they don’t remember anything prior to age three anyway, right Wendy?  But we do have pictures.  I am not going to post them all because I am tired and I’m going to sleep.  Here you go.  Taelyn Brooke.

(I know what you are thinking.  How sweet!  She’s even named after Brooke Shields!  No?  Well she isn’t named after me!  There’s an “e” on the end of her name…and she’s a girl!  But she has already learned the symbol for touchdown.  She may not be a boy, but that’s a good start, Toby.)

Taelyn Brooke's Touchdown

So if you wanna see more of this cute little baby, then you can just go to here.  (Ha!  That’s almost like go to hell, but it’s not so don’t get all freaked out.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel Fricke permalink
    May 19, 2009 11:25 AM

    Congratulations on becoming a Uncle and your wife becoming an Aunt!!

  2. tony permalink
    May 20, 2009 6:48 AM

    i didn’t know KK’s nickname was ‘tons’ – that’s cute, but i would advise against using it

Leave a Reply

