Skip to content

Build-A-God

May 16, 2009

I may have blogged about this before, but I really don’t remember.  I could look it up, but I would rather write it out since for some reason it is on my mind tonight.

Look at this picture.

Lego Last Supper

Despite the awesomeness of this picture, what does it make you think of?  No I’m not talking about how insanely gifted you were at building the coolest Lego stuff as a little kid.  No heaven isn’t made of Legos (although I could play with them for all of eternity).  And no, the Bible wasn’t actually happening with Lego people either (also would be really cool).  No, I don’t know if Judas was the bald guy and that he betrayed Jesus because he was the only one without hair and Jesus didn’t give him a miracle of newly acquired long curly locks.  Well, maybe it doesn’t hit you like it hit me.  Maybe God is just teaching me something different than He is you.  I’m sure that is entirely possible.  For me, for some reason (this time), I saw this picture and I thought about how we try to build our own God and try to make Him fit into our own little box or our life.

How many times when we are faced with big decisions to we try to find a verse that in a certain version says “then God told them to go to the palm trees” or something else crazy like that?  How many times do we try to get our way with God?  We try to convince Him that we know what is best for us and that it should be part of His will.  Why does it get so easy sometimes to fall back into justifying why He should give us exactly what we want, when we want it?  Yeah, I know it’s a long way from Legos, but for some reason this is where God brought me.  Jeremiah 29:11 says that He knows the plans that He has for us.  He isn’t an idiot.  I’m the idiot!  He doesn’t need my help to plan crap out.  He knows what’s best for me and my family.  He knows what type of housing we will be living in come July.  He knows when we will have a baby.  He knows when my wife will quit her job and when she will find the perfect one.  He already knows all that!

So am I saying we shouldn’t pray for things?  No.  Should we pray vague prayers of “Lord, we love You, thank You for this food, oh and Your will be done. Amen”?  No.  I think being specific is good.  But where is your heart when you are praying specifically?  Are we truly seeking the will of God or are we just seeking to find some God stuff in our will?  I don’t wanna pray and have God fit into my plans.  He has proved time and time again that His plan kicks my plans butt really hard!  I don’t wanna build-a-God anymore.

I do want a Lego Last Supper, though!  Anyone ever actually seen one?  If you do, please buy it for me!

What kind of plans do you try to fit God into?  How has He taught you that He is bigger than your plans?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

