Skip to content

The Price Is Right

May 13, 2009

You read that correctly. The Price Is Right. Unfortunately there is no more Bob Barker, but Drew Carey did fine. So, apparently if you bring a nonprofit group large enough, CBS will pay you $20 per person (I think) to be in the audience of The Price Is Right. Kingsfield Church is sending a group of students to Tanzania for a mission trip in August and so they used this as a fund raiser. Great thinking I say. So Monday morning I met up and piled into a few cars and make the hour or so (depending on LA traffic) trip to Hollywood (saw the sign) to be a part of the craziness. The show was filmed at CBS Television City in Hollywood in the Bob Barker Studio. I had heard lots of things about the way the show happens, but they were all wrong.

The Price Is Right Myths

  • This will be the longest day of your life.
  • Once you are on the CBS lot you will not be able to get anything to eat or drink.
  • There are no bathrooms for you to use.
  • Only 100 people out of 1000 get interviewed and have a chance to be on the show.

These were all wrong! It actually went surprisingly fast (maybe because Wipeout took so long), they had a gift shop and a snack bar which was right next to the bathroom, and everyone got interviewed! It is free to get in but you have to have tickets. Once you are there they give you your Price Is Right official name tag and your number and have you fill out a piece of paper with your information and who you are on it. My car was late so the lady took my card before I could write anything clever on it. Boo. So after sitting for a good while and playing some games with the group, we moved down the benches. Not all the way mind you. Just far enough to be annoying. This was repeated several times. I felt like I was on line at the airport with a bunch of luggage! Finally we made it through the line to go for our interviews. They interviewed about 10 people at a time and they were very brief. Then we were off to go through the metal detector and have our cell phones taken away and sit in another line. Finally it was time!

The Price Is Right LogoUnfortunately they confiscate all cell phones so I don’t have any pictures from today for you. We all piled in (about 350 of us) into the Price Is Right studio and into our seats. Everyone is in order by number. They played a shot video with some former contestant’s funny reactions and then they brought out Rich Fields (the “it’s a new caaarrrrrr!!!!” guy) and he talked for a few minutes and explained the rules. Then they brought out Drew Carey and the game was on! Unfortunately I didn’t get picked (probably because I didn’t get to fill out my info card and tell them how insanely awesome I would have been), but one of the girls from our group did! It was awesome! The first person up won a scooter and a (help me here Rich) new car! Yeah. I didn’t win. It was fun to yell out all kinds of random things and numbers that did or didn’t help the contestants. I did do rather well from my seat. If I had made it I would have won lots of stuff! The show ended with a low note because both of the people in the showcase were WAY over and didn’t win. Once again, I would have won a trip to Las Vegas, a new trampoline and a trip to Australia from the showcase. Losers.

It was a fun day though. I would be willing to be that we all had fun. Well, I don’t really care. I did! I would love to have everyone come out and go! It would be a blast. I wish my wife and sister could have gone. Maybe next time. After all, it is free! Road trip! Too bad the price was wrong today. If you wanna watch the episode and see me act a fool in the crowd, it airs on May 26th.

Two major networks’ game shows down. Two more to go! Any ideas?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jason permalink
    May 13, 2009 4:19 AM

    That’s awesome man! too bad Tic Tac Dough, Press Your Luck, and all those other games don’t exist anymore – you would have been a perfect full time game show contestant! let’s see… you still have Wheel of fortune…

  2. David permalink
    May 13, 2009 11:14 AM

    Hole in the Wall!

  3. Brenda permalink
    May 13, 2009 5:42 PM

    Check out hollywoodtickets.com

Leave a Reply

