Skip to content

Happy Mother’s Day

May 9, 2009

Mother's DayHappy Mother’s Day to all you moms out there, but a super big one to my mom!  Yes I know for some of you that is hard to believe that I actually have a mother and am not some alien species that is hiding here on earth.  Normally I guess the thing to do here would be to post this tomorrow for actual Mother’s Day, but I thought I would try to be ahead of the game a little since I am a good 1361.83 miles (exactly according to MapQuest) away from my mother this year.  Sorry mom!  I was gonna make the drive for you but then I realized it is supposed to take 20 hours and decided we can Skype instead.

We all love our moms.  Sometimes that love is deep inside and we don’t realize it is there (i.e. – when we are trying to be cool in Junior High and she drops you off at school with a kiss, a thumb cleaning of the lipstick, and a yell about how much she loves you).  Sometimes that love is there but isn’t shown real well (i.e. – the conversation with your mom about how you just can’t move back in now that you have already moved out and you are a guy and that would be taking a step backwards).  Sometimes that love is there but a little manliness is over shadowing (i.e. – having a conversation with your brother about guy stuff and, oh, by the way, you should go home and see your mom more often because she would really like that).  And then there are those times that you just have to buy her a card, even though to a guy buying a card is painful and easily avoided, and attempt to tell her how much you love her and appreciate all the crap that she has gone through and put up with for you.

I mean come on.  We all can think back to those certain years in our lives when we made our mom’s life miserable just for the sake of being a pain in the as…troturf.  For me that was…well…probably from about 5th grade on.  For my sister it was the first 6 years of her life (i.e. – medicine stains on the ceiling).  She deserves a little more than what we have put her through.  Yeah, so you hated it when she would stay up late to make sure you got home safe.  So you hated it when she would call you while you were driving with your friends just to make sure you were wearing your seatbelt…and being safe…and driving under the speed limit…and being polite…and to make sure you were still being safe…and to see when you would be home…and to see if you were there yet…and to see if…Happy Mother's Day

But seriously.  As I sit here on my back patio thinking about how much I love my mom and how if she were here right now she would be totally loving the sound of the wind (that’s a very slight breeze to you Okies) blowing through the palm trees and the one random wind chime that we have up for some reason and how she would be so “filled up” right now, I just wanna take a minute and say thanks to mom for everything.  I know that sounds nice and simple, but if you really were to take the time to sit down and write a thank you note for all the things throughout your life that she deserved Thank You notes for the Green Peace people would be up in arms because of the amount of paper you just used and trees you killed!  Come to think of it, my mom would be pretty upset too.  Hmmm…

So here you go, mom.  Thank you so much!  Thank you, thank you, thank you.  I love you so much!

One Comment leave one →
  1. the mom, with tears in her eyes permalink
    May 10, 2009 6:08 AM

    I love you so much. yep, I have tears, but good tears. you fill me up too, not just the wind or the chimes or the sunset that is amazing I am sure – but that you thought the things you did. that you get it. that you are more like me than you know, that I loved every minute of loving you growing up, that I still do. I love the man you are and the woman you have chosen to live life with. thanks for being thankful.

    sorry about the yelling I love you (not really too sorry), but someday you probably will too…

Leave a Reply

