Skip to content

Movie Reviews – Quantum Of Solace

May 8, 2009

Time for a new movie review thanks to redbox!  The wife decided that she was a little more tired than normal and we should rent a movie.  I’m sure she will be awake for the whole time.  So this week’s movie is on me and I picked Quantum Of Solace.  I don’t think I have heard anyone say they liked this movie, but I don’t like to rely only on other people’s opinions when it comes to movies.

I think the main thing I heard about this movie basically was that it was hard to follow.  They said that it ended and they had no idea what happened.  So what the heck.  Let’s watch it anyway.  It’s a Bond after all!  So bring on the 007!  Needless to say the wife fell asleep pretty quickly (as I’m sure that was the plan).  Quantum Of Solace is the next chapter in the Daniel Craig versions of the famed 007 films.  Personally I am a fan of the old school Bond movies with Sean Connery, but Craig holds his own.  Quantum has the storyline of a group of people withholding resources from the world and therefore making tons of money off of it.  Of course it is up to the British government to stop it.

Quantum Of Solace

The movie starts off with a bang as Bond is in the middle of a pretty nice and destroying car chase followed immediately by some torture and a foot race.  Pretty good start.  But after that start things got a little crazy.  I don’t know if there was a back story that I was supposed to remember, but I don’t have a clue who it was that Bond was upset about losing.  Oh well.  Despite the fact that I didn’t know what exactly was going on, I stayed with it and saw everything come full circle.  For me it was not much more than decent.  I think if we weren’t dropped into the middle of a story that you are trying to catch up on the whole time it could have been much better.  But, that is the way it goes and there is no going back now!  Not the best Bond I have ever seen.  The fights were fun as usual, but there were no cool vehicles or weapons like normal.  That I missed a lot!  But for those of you that are stuck in the route of 27 Traveling Pants Worn On Center Stage While Performing A Sleepless Walk To Remember then this movie is still a great break from your norm.  Go for it.  Just don’t expect the world (except for James to save it one shaken not stirred martini at a time)!

Highlights Of The Movie – My favorite part of the movie was a fight between Bond and another guy where Bond stabs him in the femoral artery and kills the guy really quick.  Pretty sweet.

Leave a Reply

