Skip to content

Star Wars Day

May 4, 2009

Family Guy Star WarsSo Mondays are my day off.  I work Sundays with my job so Monday is a day full of sleeping, blogging, eating, watching TV, generally being lazy and surfing.  I like my Mondays.  I only wish that my wife could have her Mondays off too!  Oh well.  Anyway, today my day off laziness has led me to a discovery.  I’m not going to say it is a major discovery, but it is new to me.

Did you know that May 4th is Star Wars Day?  I did not know this.  It was news to me.  For those of you that are major Star Wars fans, you may be offended by my ignorance, but if you hang around long enough you will learn to deal with that.  So for those of you that are like me and don’t really care that it is Star Wars Day but are curious to know why today is Star Wars Day, here is your answer.Throughout the Star Wars movies the good guys always said “may the force be with you” as someone would leave the scene to go potentially die or something equally dramatic.  That’s great.  I generally say “good luck” or “don’t die” or “hey wait you own me money”, but that’s just me.  So why is it Star Wars Day?  You still don’t get it?  Ok.  I’ll lay it all out for you.  Let’s say you are a Star Wars fanatic (AKA Star Wars nerd).  If you were to say “may the force be with you” and you just happened to be leaving the dentist, who is going off to potentially die, with a mouth full of cotton balls, it would sound more like “May the 4th be with you”.  Then of course the dentist is clueless to why the 4th of May would be with him since there is really only a 1 in 365 chance that it would sorta make sense.

So now apparently enough people have decided that they think that is funny enough to say it a lot and hence today, May 4th, is now Star Wars Day.  This is all true unless of course you live in Mon County where Star Wars Day is actually May 25th.  No seriously.  They actually have a legitimate Star Wars Day that lines up with May 25th, 1977 when Star Wars came out.  Good times in LA.  I always knew they were a little weird up there.

So go out and have a fake light saber fight with someone and enjoy your Star Wars Day!

Light Saber Fight Outside

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

