Skip to content

Leadership Is Blowing Crap Up!

May 4, 2009

One of the coolest things about the Catalyst conferences is that it is really intended for church leaders.  I like that it isn’t for just Baptists or the Non-Denominational denomination.  It’s for everyone.  I like that it is about helping others become better leaders and not “this is how you should do your church”.  That conversation always seems to lead to argument about who’s church does things better.

Explosion

If you have been here much very recently, you know I have been working through all the things that I heard at Catalyst West Coast.  When you get to hear from leaders that God is using to affect the world in the way these guys are there is a lot to learn and think about.  Today I wanna think about something that Erwin McManus said about spiritual leadership.  Live heroic.  Spiritual leadership is detonating the obstacles in front of others so they can live their dreams.  As leaders we aren’t all called to have a vision to get people to join.  Many of us are called to help wake up the God given dreams in others!

For me this fits in with one of my favorite things about God.  I love that we are all different.  Not just our styles of church but our personalities and everything in between.  That includes our visions for ministry as well.  I love that I don’t have to have the vision to get everyone involved in prayer walks or anointing each other with oil.  Those visions are God given to other people!  For me the vision is leading people in worship through music, helping and equipping other worship leaders, and helping young couples.  A lot of the vision I believe God has called me to isn’t starting a new church but to help others find and wake up their God given visions.

I love it!  I love blowing stuff up!  I love watching stuff blow up!  Therefore having a vision to help blow up the obstacles in front of other people’s God given visions is awesome!  What is the vision that God has called you to?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 12:33 PM

    Sweetness……i bet that was such an awesome experience for you, bro! I would love to be able to attend one of those conferences. I think there is one in Dallas approaching, ill have to see if my wallet will let go of some greens for entrance.

    Thanks for sharin!

  2. May 5, 2009 5:27 PM

    I was just wondering where the Bible tells pastors that they should be about waking up the God given vision in others?

  3. I'm Brook James permalink*
    May 6, 2009 10:36 AM

    Hey Michael. Thanks for your comment. First I wanna say something that I truly believe deep down and believe is a very good practice. I think that anything we hear or are taught or have preached to us or whatever, we should be able to line up with Scripture. I definitely do NOT believe that we should just take everything we hear for absolute truth as it is coming to us from human sources. It is obvious from your blog that you are not a fan of Erwin McManus or Mosaic in general. That’s fine. You are entitled to your thoughts and opinions. But as I have said before in another blog post, I think that there is always something to be learned from others in ministry, whether you agree with everything they say or not. That being said, let me get to your question.

    First I want to correct something in your question that is not what I said. I am not saying that the Bible tells pastors that they should be about waking up the God given vision in others. I am saying that for leaders. I do believe this lines up with Scripture too. I honestly don’t remember what McManus said as to what Scriptures he was basing this on (probably because I am ADD and it was a lot to take in) but I know that for me, I see it founded in Ephesians 4:10-12 where it says “He handed out gifts above and below, filled heaven with his gifts, filled earth with his gifts. He handed out gifts of apostle, prophet, evangelist, and pastor-teacher to train Christ’s followers in skilled servant work, working within Christ’s body, the church…”

    I think that a basic part of being a prophet or a teacher is exactly that. Waking up the God given vision inside of someone. I know many teachers that would not feel like they were fulfilling the call that God placed on their lives if they were not teaching their students to be everything God has called them to be. I would even go as far as saying that people with the gift of prophecy are mostly not calling out others to be prophetic but to wake up or stir up something that God has placed inside them. When I am helping someone learn to play guitar or lead worship I am not trying to call them to the vision that God has given me for my life. I just want to do exactly what Paul is saying in Ephesians (in a different version) “for the equipping of the saints for the work of service, to the building up of the body of Christ”.

    If we as leaders are not called to wake up the God given vision inside of others and are only called to bring them to our vision, then what is it that we are called to? Seems pretty clear that we are all given different gifts and different visions and to not wake up those visions in the next generation (to me) sounds like we are dying out.

  4. tony permalink
    May 8, 2009 1:57 PM

    “I would even go as far as saying that people with the gift of prophecy are mostly not calling out others to be prophetic but to wake up or stir up something that God has placed inside them. ”

    you know, you’re a great kid! (i can call you that because i’m older than your dad)

    prophets are so misunderstood, probably because most of us are total jerks and we don’t understand why others don’t see what we see and we get very frustrated – please forgive us for that – but that’s another story entirely

    but, back on point, i enjoy seeing this side of you – good job.

    (actually that’s all crap -i just need a vacation and am sucking up)

Leave a Reply

