Skip to content

All The Small Things

April 30, 2009

Mind-blowingI really love mind-blowing things that make me think.  Not just think like what is the square root of 864 times the by product of x + 7y all divided by 3.  That’s just dumb thinking.  But I do like things that I have to figure out.  I like riddles or puzzles or predicaments.  I like to work on my car because I don’t have a clue.  I like to try to surf because I really don’t know what I am doing.  Catalyst (as I’m sure you can tell so far if you have read here recently) is one of those things that makes me think.  Not just thoughts like wondering how they could spend so much money on a conference like that and have so many bad sound issues (not Mariners Church by the way…they weren’t responsible), but the kind of thinking that makes you sit back and go wow.  That changes all kinds of things for me and the way I live!  Well today I wanna give you another one of those thoughts.  It really could have piggybacked on the last post about living knowing God can use you to change the world, but I just couldn’t do it.  If you are really taking stuff like this in, you have to give it some time to sink in before you start throwing more mind-blowing ideas on top of it!

One of the speakers at the Catalyst West Coast conference was Erwin McManus.  I don’t know much about this guy except that judging from the talk that he gave, their church is very artsy and creative.  Go for it man!  I have more than one thought from his talk, but I just wanna hit one now.  Are you ready?  Are you sure?  If this is news to you, it can completely blow your mind!  Think on this for a minute.

God dreamed you up!

Four words.  God dreamed you up.  Think about the magnitude of that!  He didn’t get bored one day and say well, ummm…oh right I was goofing around yesterday and left some dust and breath in the fridge and when I went back later, poof, Brook was in there.  I guess he’ll do.  NO!  He didn’t say that.  He dreamed you up!  He came up with every little detail about you!  Remember all those imaginary friends you had when you were little?  All the insane details that you made up about them?  God did that for EVERY SINGLE THING ABOUT YOU!  Wow.  Not one single person in this world is ordinary.  There aren’t doppelgängers (that I know of).  There aren’t any more of you.  There are no more Kara-Kaes.  There are no more Taylor Faughts (trust me, I know because every high school and college sports team has looked).  There are no more Tom Greens.  There are no more Barak Obamas.  Each one of the octuplets there are no more of.  There are no more ___________ (put your name here…except for Kara-Kae, Taylor Faught, Tom Green, Barak Obama and the octuplets because I already did yours…and no I doubt Tom Green or Barak Obama read my blog…but it would be pretty cool if they did so if you know them point them this way!).

No one is ordinary!  Not one ordinary baby comes into this world.  Maybe you are like me and you look at the things going on around you and think how that could never be you because you aren’t that good.  Maybe you think that no one could love you because you aren’t someone else.  You are just you.  It’s all bull crap!  You are you and only you!  That’s pretty freakin’ awesome!  There’s no reason you need to try to be someone else!  Just be you!  God made you that way on purpose! (Enough with the exclamation marks already!)

Ok, I’m gonna calm down right now because I think Alex (my computer…yes my wife names random things) is hurting a little in the keyboard area because I am really typing hard hoping to make my point.  But please.  Next time you get down on yourself or your self-esteem is low, remember that God dreamed you up!  He didn’t trip over you and say yeah ok.  He didn’t pull you out of a hat.  Are you liking all my images here?  Ok.  I’m done.  God loves you.  God came up with you.  Those little goofy things you do that you think are weird?  God loves them!  They were His idea first.  (See there I go again.)

God dreamed you up.  Amazing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2009 4:24 PM

    This is good stuff. Except for that picture, eww.

  2. the folks permalink
    May 1, 2009 5:49 AM

    love that you love that thought! way cool

  3. May 1, 2009 8:24 AM

    Great thoughts babe. I feel a preacher coming out of you 😉 Can you remind me of this when I get down on myself? Unless I get mad of you for not being supportive of my “moods”. But hey…it was GOD’S idea to make me this way!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

