Skip to content

What Do You Wanna Be When You Grow Up?

April 22, 2009

I Don't Wanna Grow Up

Ah, the question that haunts most people under the age of 30!  My sister was asked this question when she was young.  She said she wanted to be a nothing like her mom.  But that’s a whole other story though.  Anyway, I have always wondered what I would do with myself after I am too old to be a worship pastor.  I never really have been sure.  I am still learning that the way we are able to minister is a very fluid thing.  Maybe it’s the different ages or the different life experiences that we have that make us better at certain things at certain points in our lives.  Hmmm.  I wonder where I will be in 20 years (probably working 4 jobs because my wife won’t stop wanting to have kids or I will be at home being a nothing like my mom while the wife works).  I have recently had some ideas that seem like fun.

  • I am thinking about the possibility of trying to become a columnist of some sort.  I really don’t know how to go about that, but I have gotten more and more into this writing thing and really enjoying it.  So maybe I will figure it out some day.  It would be good too because I could probably start that well before I am past my prime as a worship pastor (hopefully I’m not already there) and do it at the same time depending on how much I would be writing.
  • Another thought that I know I am sharing with my wife is going into some sort of counseling maybe pertaining to marriage or pre-marital stuff.  That would be fun too.  I guess we gotta make sure my wife still loves me by that point.  We’ll see if she keeps me around or not first.
  • Maybe I just won’t grow up.  Yeah!  Take that!

That’s all I got at the moment.  Any thoughts?  Anyone know how to get into these things?  Help me out!  I will love you forever!

What do you wanna be when you grow up?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kara-Kae permalink
    April 22, 2009 4:35 PM

    YOU? GROW UP?!?! I don’t think it’ll ever happen. I’m liking the idea of 4 jobs so I can keep popping out the kids! Bring it ON!

  2. Jim Lindsey permalink
    April 22, 2009 5:36 PM

    Growing up is optional – growing old isn’t however.

  3. Cayce permalink
    April 22, 2009 5:51 PM

    I still want to be a nothing. How fun!

  4. David Nickle permalink
    April 23, 2009 7:28 PM

    Snowboard instructor/snowboarder (boo on ski patrol) patrol :-).

  5. April 25, 2009 2:41 PM

    I want to be a nothing like Cayce!!!

Leave a Reply

