Skip to content

Movie Reviews – Seven Pounds

April 20, 2009

Well, if you know me very well, you know I like my Will Smith movies.  Yes even Wild Wild West.  Why?  I’m not really sure.  But I like them.  Independence Day.  Ali.  MIB.  Bad Boys.  Just good stuff.  Thanks to redbox and my wife’s occasional inability to make decisions (not that I’m a ton better) we rented two movies last night and because I don’t like wasting money ($1 more in this case) we had to make sure we watched Seven Pounds and return it before 9 Pm.  Done!

I really didn’t know what to expect going into this movie.  I had seen the trailer, but it doesn’t really tell you much.  I also try not to talk to people about movies that I haven’t seen yet, so I didn’t have much outside perspective either.  So my only bias is that I like Will Smith.  So, the movie.  The basic story is of Ben Thomas (Will Smith), an IRS agent, that spends his life trying to help people that are good people deserving of help.  The other main character played by Rosario Dawson is a woman in need of a heart transplant.  There isn’t really a whole lot I can tell you that will make any sense to you without giving away too much about the movie so this won’t be too long.  I liked the movie and I believe my wife did as well.  It kept our attention and didn’t give everything away immediately.

Seven Pounds

My only issue with the movie is that they seemed to neglect some information that you basically have to assume and it would be nice to take just a few minutes to clear them up toward the end.  But this wasn’t enough to turn me away.  It did have a bit of language in it if that scares you away and the hinting at some sex, but that was about it.  You may be a little uneasy with the ending, but I can’t get into that without giving it away.  All in all, it was a good movie.  Not my favorite Will Smith movie, but worth watching.  Probably more of a middle of the road drama.  It was still good though.  Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cayce permalink
    April 21, 2009 7:58 PM

    Tine, Reag, me, and Efren went to see this movie at Christmas. For two hours we sat there asking each other what the movie was about. “Why is he talking to this person? Why is he yelling at him? Wait…that’s not his real name?” After a while we were so lost that we were barely watching. In the last 5 minutes it all made sense and it was good, but it just took way too long to get there. I think that they should have started giving hints as to the plot alot earlier. But that’s just me!

Leave a Reply

