Skip to content

Movie Reviews – Marley And Me

April 18, 2009

Frankly I’m a little confused as to why I haven’t started a movie review series yet. Well, here it goes.

My wife and I…well I have a tendancy to not wanna spend any money. I especially don’t wanna spend money on ridiculous movie ticket prices. It is like $10.50 to get one person into a movie now days. That’s just stupid. I miss the Studio Movie Grill in Arlington, TX (one of the few things I actually miss from Texas). It cost us $13.50 for two tickets there. And to top it all off we could get dinner and it was the best theater around! Anyway, back to the point. We don’t go see many movies when the come out in theaters (with exceptions like Transformers, G.I. Joe, etc.). We opt for the cheaper route of redbox or Netflix. So that is why this is now and not when the movie first came out!

Marley And Me

On to the movie. Marley And Me. I am not going to tell you a ton about this movie for the sake of those that haven’t seen it yet. The basic story is that of a family throughout the life of a dog. For all you dog lovers out there, this is right up your alley. It stars Owen Wilson, who is from one of my favorite movies Bottle Rocket and who talks through his nose which seems to be getting worse, and Jennifer Aniston, who we all know or at least are told by our wives and girlfriends is really supposed to be the one with Brad Pitt, and a side role by someone that my wife calls McSteamy (beats me). It seemed to be a pretty clean movie. I don’t remember much of anything in it and it was pretty funny too (not Tommy Boy funny, but still).

The movie is a great story that any true pet owner can easily get immersed into and not get out of until the credits roll. It is a very heartfelt movie and has even made the list of VERY few movies that have been able to pull salty liquid out of my eyes. Wha…what is this facial wetness? Oh, right. Tears! Let it be known that I am definitely not a crier. As a matter of fact, I tend to get in trouble almost every time from the wife when movies get to that sad or love…y part. I generally laugh and it NEVER goes over well. But Marley And Me is now in the company of The Patriot (the little girl deciding to talk to her dad and tell him she loves him kills me every time), Armageddon (yeah, yeah I know, but how do you hold them back when Bruce Willis gives his life for the WORLD and his daughter with Aerosmith wailing in the background!? I don’t wanna close my eyes! I don’t wanna fall asleep ’cause I’d miss you baby and I don’t wanna blow up with a nuke on a random meteor all alone!), and…well…that may be all of them.

All in all, I liked this movie a lot and I highly recommend it. It made me want to become a columnist! I think I would really enjoy that. Anyway, if you are trying to decide on it for a date movie, here is what I would say. Definitely not a first dater or even in the first couple months of a relationship (unless of course you have to find a way to show her your sensitive side…assuming you can find one). For a established relationship I would say go for it! She will like the movie and you will get brownie points for a family, sensitive, love story that can also be rather funny at many times too. I wouldn’t say that it is a great movie for the younger kids, but you can be the judge of that (hopefully you do that anyway and don’t just rely on what you read).

Our Marley

Our Marley

Yes, you can judge me all you want. You can mock me for having a sensitive side (that really takes some work to find in me). You can even ridicule me for only being able to cry out of one eye because of the sty that I had cut out right by the tear duct (not entirely true…but still good). But when you have a wife sniffing back her tears and your dog (who of course is treated like a child) laying on your lap for the movie, you try to hold them back! Good luck!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sherly158 permalink
    April 19, 2009 1:10 AM

    hi, im just a random passerby and i thought i’d give some comment on this 🙂
    i’ve seen both the movie and read the book about marley and me. i’ve found that the book is way nicer than the movie due to some scene not shown on the film..
    cheers anyways ;D

  2. tony permalink
    April 19, 2009 8:13 AM

    gosh brook, i luve you man (sniff, sniff)

  3. Kara-Kae permalink
    April 19, 2009 1:31 PM

    thanks for only saying i was “sniffing back tears”. I thought I was bawling like a baby, but whatever. Great movie! Thanks for watching it with me. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

