Skip to content

OC Concert Series – OK Go

April 11, 2009

I should have started this series of posts about a month ago when we went to see The Dan Band, but I didn’t.  Oh well.  So I will start it now on the second post!

When we first moved to California my wife was looking through some job postings and found a position at ESPN as some sort of event coordinator.  Of course I really tried to talk her into interviewing, but she decided it wasn’t for her.  Are you kidding me?  Do you know how many free sporting events she could get me into?!  Well, that was selfish me talking and good husband me didn’t push it on her.  Then she got her job at the House Of Blues.  Awesome.  Now instead of all the sporting events, we get into a ton of concerts!  Sweet.

Last night we got to enjoy seeing and hearing OK Go (yes, Tatum, the band).  They were great.  We got there a little late so we didn’t get to get up front but that was fine because we found a great spot in the upstairs with a great view right behind a lady who thought it would be a great idea to bring her binoculars so she could see the band up REAL close.  That was a smart move because we were at least…well maybe 100 feet away from the stage.  But she was the real fan.  We were apparently just fakers because when the confetti started flying (which we were close enough to have land on us) the binocular lady was trying desperately to catch the pieces.  She did succeed catching a few and they went excitedly directly into her purse.  I really don’t know what you do with random pieces of confetti/strips of colorful paper.  Good times.  Guess I should have been trying to get as much as I could.

Highlights of the show – OK Go took a brief break between songs and loaded out a table and about 20 handbells.  They did a whole song with just the handbells and voices.  Outstanding.  Watch for their new album!  I liked the new stuff a lot!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda permalink
    April 12, 2009 3:33 AM

    I know what she did with the confetti. She took it home and put it on a scrapbook page!

  2. Kara-Kae permalink
    April 13, 2009 8:45 AM

    aren’t you glad i took a job where you get good benefits? i’m always looking out for you!!

  3. April 13, 2009 9:21 PM

    OK Go… nice.

Leave a Reply

