Skip to content

How To Create A Successful Blog

April 8, 2009

Recently a friend of mine told me he was thinking about creating a blog.  He wanted to know what tips I had for him and how to make it good.  He isn’t the only person.  I actually had parent tell me a little bit about their plans to start a blog as well.  So, I though to myself, why not help them all out and post a blog with many of the tips and thoughts that I have about how to make your blog successful?!  So here goes!  I hope this helps you all out!

Blogging

WordPress vs. Blogspot – I am not going to go into detail about which site is better because they both have their pros and cons.  Also, I have already done so with my post BS or WP? That Is The Question.  But I think the main thing to keep in mind is that while it isn’t hard to change links, people are lazy and don’t like to.  The best thing to do is to start a blog and stick with that same site.  If you have read my blog from the beginning you know that wasn’t the case for me.  Take your time.  Think through it.  Then get your site.

Posting – People seem to like to read blogs.  That’s good for us bloggers.  So capitalize on that and post!  Do it often.  If you do so regularly you will keep the traffic (readers) coming back all the time!  If you don’t post much, people won’t come back to it.  They may for a while, but eventually they will lose interest in your site and move on.

Find Your Niche – Many people like to read blogs on specific topics.  They go to certain blogs for different things.  They may go to Stuff Christians Like for their fill of laughing at the goofy things that Christians do.  They may go to Kara-Kae James‘s blog to read about the first year of marriage or weddings.  They may go to Swerve or Church Relevance to read about church innovation.  Or Stuff White People Like to laugh at white people.  Or maybe just to check out some really awesome pictures (probably my favorite site) at the Sexy People Blog.  Personally, I am not good at this.  My mind is completely too scattered and all over the place to really find a niche.  So I would be willing to bet that my blog isn’t reaching its full potential because of this topic specifically!

Link Love – Every blogger likes to see that people are reading their blog.  They also love to see that other bloggers have linked them too!  There are a couple good ways to do this.  You can link them in the posts as you talk about them as I have done in the Find Your Niche section.  This lets people follow the links to whatever you may be talking about.  There is also something the blog world calls Link Love or Blog Roll.  This is what I have right here to the left of this post.  If you look to your left you will see all the blogs from other people that I follow.  I wanna get them traffic and give them props too!  Get them to add you to theirs too!

Keep It Fresh – I’m not talking about just the topics or what you write about, although fresh and new posts are good too.  There are lots of ways you can keep it interesting.  Catchy titles are always good.  Many web sites show just the titles of a blog post so your title needs to be able to catch someone’s attention.  Use pictures!  Some people are like me and suck at reading.  We need pictures to keep our attention and give us a nice change of pace from reading words and then re-reading those words because we realize that we didn’t really read the words.  Change up the way your blog looks.  Some sites work better for this than others, but if you have a way to do this, change it every once in a while to give people a change of scenery.

Comments – Comments are second to hits as the blood line of your blog.  You want comments!  Good ones, bad ones, supportive ones and negative ones.  They are all good.  Do what you can to get people to comment on what you write.  Go to other blogs that you read and comment on their posts.  Many bloggers will in turn comment back on your blog.

Twitter/Facebook/MySpace – Use other social networks to drive traffic to your blog.  When you write a new blog post update your status on the other networks and let people know there is something new there!  People will come check out what is new!

Patience Is A Virtue – Be patient.  The whole world won’t find your blog the moment you start it!  It will take a little time to figure all of it out.  It will take people some time to get you linked or to bookmark your page.  Don’t get discouraged!  Keep writing!

Blogging

For those of you that have blogs, what tips and thoughts would you add?  What has made your blog successful?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kara-Kae permalink
    April 8, 2009 2:51 PM

    good tips baby! i looooooove you!

  2. bettieblogger permalink
    April 8, 2009 6:13 PM

    thanks for posting this .. I am fairly new to blogging and you have some great idea’s here .. I think I’ll head over to facebook & twitter and start some self promotion :<)

    thanks again!

  3. the folks permalink
    April 8, 2009 7:27 PM

    good tips, will keep them in mind. really, not looking to get great blog traffic with our “travels”, just will be trying to keep everyone updated on life, since can’t email the whole world. interesting. I will chase down the old one on wp v. blogspot, and see what are the pros and cons. we love you, and will change if you do. 🙂 hugs from here!

  4. the folks permalink
    April 10, 2009 7:25 PM

    Who’s got time for all that?? I may just keep reading…. dad

Leave a Reply

