Skip to content

The One Day Of Love For The Year

February 15, 2009

I Luv V-Day Heart Candy

Ah, Valentine’s Day.  Some mobster from the 1920’s named Mikey “One Eye” Valentino made the day famous somehow.  Not really sure how that all works out.  Anyway, it’s funny how we just set up certain “holidays” for certain things.  Valentine’s Day is to boost the sale of roses (also why women created the doghouse).  Labor Day is to remind us that we all have to work for the man.  Easter is Jesus coming back to life as a bunny and hiding all the eggs from everyone (yes I know that’s not what its about).  President’s Day is for…well I’m not really sure what that one is for.  We live in America.  If you don’t know that we have a president, then you probably shouldn’t be living here.  Anyway, today was Valentine’s Day.  I didn’t think we were going to have a V-Day this year, but since the stimulus package hasn’t quite been fully passed, I think President Obama decided to go ahead and have it to try to help out all the flower pickers in this rough economy!  Good thinking, boss!

These holidays always crack me up.  I never know what to think about them.  Personally,  I really don’t care (except for Easter just to set the record straight for those of that are actually concerned that I don’t know why we really celebrate Easter), but some people live for these days, I think.  A buddy of mine was Twittering today about how his wife is one of those that doesn’t care about V-Day.  Me on the other hand married a woman that is on the Live For These Days team.  And she isn’t joking around.  I can’t imagine what would happen if somehow I didn’t know it was V-Day (and apparently haven been out of the house since New Years Day or turned on the TV).  I would probably be sleeping on the couch (if I even got that much accommodation) and losing other privileges, too.  But, fortunately for me, I did know that the day was approaching and so I made plans accordingly.

This year we have been in a tight spot with the money (as I’m sure many others are as well) so we decided that we would put a good limit on spending on each other.  $15 was the chosen limit.  Well, that didn’t work well.  I know how much this day means to her so I had to break that.  Of course it really didn’t help that she had been going on and on about how if she could pull off her gift, I was really going to love it!  There isn’t much that I could come up with that costs $15 that I would just absolutely love so I figured she must be breaking the limit too.  Well, to make a long story short (which I’m sure she would fill you in on soon enough if you go here) we had gifts of a hat, an iPhone, tickets to see The Dan Band next week, a funny card, a card made from construction paper, markers and glue, a car wash, a dozen roses and cards.  Not only that but we decided to break the day into 2 hour segments in which one person chose what we did for 2 hours and then the other chose the next 2 hours (which was great because finally the day wasn’t only about the guy trying to go to extravagant means just to prove his love to her AND entertain her all day with no help.  That was fun too (and interesting).  So with all that we did gifts (under $15 of course), shopping, 2 malls, 2 Apple Stores, breakfast/lunch, I made her mad, we worked it out, the grocery store (which we are thrilled about and will be buying groceries here from now on), dinner and 2 movies.  Needless to say, I’m worn the crap out.

So with that in mind, I am going to bed.  I love her.  She loves me.  We love you.  Goodnight.

Worn Out! Heart Candy

My iTunes mind is currently playing the renaissance fair version of the theme song from Family Guy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2009 12:28 PM

    you guys crack me up. =]

  2. Kara-Kae permalink
    February 15, 2009 5:45 PM

    i do love you!!! thanks for a great valentines day!

  3. Brenda permalink
    February 16, 2009 4:53 AM

    You can’t blame this one on me. They always say it is the mother’s fault; not this time. I can take or leave this or about any holiday, they are all just another day. Oh yea, there is one you better not forget: MOTHER-IN-LAW Day!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

