Skip to content

Good Friends

February 14, 2009

Really Old Telephone

As I write this I realize that it is pretty condemning of me, but its on my mind so I think I will write it anyway.  Today I did something that I don’t normally do.  After I did it, I realized how often (or more like how seldom) I do this.  I actually picked up the phone to call one of my best friends to see how he and his preggo wife are doing.  Yeah.  Unfortunately, I am a terrible friend and I don’t do that.  I don’t know why that is.  I really do wanna know what is going on, but for some stupid reason, I don’t just pick up the phone and call.  Like I said, I’m a awful friend.  I don’t call those that I care about near enough.  Yes I call my family (probably still not enough, but at least I do) but unless they call me, I tend to not call everyone else that I love.  

Wow.  Even as I write this I am realizing even more how bad this is.  But for some reason today I realized that I’m a complete tool and decided to break my streak of crappy friending.  So I called Taylor.  Got to talk to him for a good while.  Got to catch up on his wife and help them add up how many weeks along she is.  Got to hear the news about the family.  Got an accurate count on the number of wiener dogs that are running around his dad’s house.  Got caught up with his sisters and mom.  Good stuff.  Now I know how to pray for them better instead of waiting for him to call me.  It was good.

I don’t believe in New Years resolutions so I don’t do them.  Don’t get me wrong.  This isn’t one.  I just wanna get better at it.  If it was a NYr then I would have to wait until the beginning of next year to start it (don’t get me going on this).  Anyway, I had plans to call Jason (another one of my best friends) today as well, but my wife got home and I got distracted.  I always get distracted when she is around.  Makes it kinda hard to concentrate on things.  But that’s ok because I like that.  Back to what I was saying.  Jason is still next.  It may not be tomorrow, but it will be soon.  So, I wanna get into a better habit of keeping in touch with the ones that I care about.  Now, if I don’t call you, please don’t take that as me not caring about you.  I probably just dropped back into being a sucky friend again.  My apologies to all of you that I love so much and just don’t call enough!  I really do love you!

Just in case you happen to be curious, I am listening to Standing Outside Of A Broken Telephone – Primitive Radio Gods – Rocket.  No it actually has nothing to do with this post, but I thought it might be interesting to read back later on.  Wait.  It just changed to Shattered (Turn The Car Around) – O.A.R. – All Sides.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jason permalink
    February 17, 2009 1:03 PM

    Hey Brook…just for the record it is now the 17th and you still haven’t called…I do suppose I could call you though, but then I couldn’t give you a hard time…I totally feel you on this one though…good intentions don’t always translate into good behaviors. I think I have been twittering for too long… all my thoughts come out in 140 characters or less…choppy little fragments….it is definitely wearing me out…so I will stop!

Leave a Reply

