Skip to content

Role Play

January 14, 2009

So my wife (who has recently altered the look of her blog) and I have been married now for 320 days (or if you prefer it differently for 10 months and 16 days, or a little more than 45 weeks, or 7,680 hours, or 460,800 minutes, or finally…’cause I don’t really wanna do more math…27,648,000 seconds!)!  That’s awesome!  We are still excited about it!  Yeah, yeah, still newly weds you say.  Well screw that!  I still love her!  Anyway, that’s not the point…well that’s always the point (I didn’t mean that, baby).  

Anyway part two, back in the day when we were still only engaged, we went through premarital counseling with a friend from a nearby church.  He had us read a few books as part of the counseling.  Well, I’m gonna go ahead and be honest with you, Chris, I didn’t read them.  I really want my marriage to work, but I am really not a reader.  If you have known me for any real length of time, you know that.  I did try though.  I started the book about the love languages.  I didn’t actually make it through all the different types though.  Wow, this intro is getting longer and longer and longer (ok I’m done with that…sorry).  One of the other books that Chris had us read (that I didn’t read) was Rocking the Roles.  Apparently the woman isn’t the only person supposed to do the dishes and clean and cook and make the bed and pick up random socks left out and bathe the dog…wow, maybe I do need to read this book.  Now all you feminists out there that read my blog (imagine with me because I’m sure there probably aren’t) don’t get offended because I’m not gonna say that the woman has her place…that would get me in far too much trouble and I spent way too much money on our bed not to get to sleep in it for extended periods of time.  So I won’t go there.  Ha.

Where is this all leading you ask?  Good question.  I have no idea.  I just thought I would write and see where it ends up.  Just kidding.  I actually do have a plan, but you know how ADD I am.  (ps – ADD has always freaked me out because when you type the word it is in all caps and I feel like someone is yelling the word “add” at me like I am back in 1st grade again and suck at math!)  Back to the roles thing.  Recently we have had a role reversal and I am trying to learn to deal with it.  I personally believe that a man, any man (except for those of you who are rich out there…not me) deals with the issue of being able to provide for the family.  I know that may seem crazy to you girls out there, but the thought of not being about to do that is rather paralyzing to many of us.  Right now I am trying to deal with this and not freeze up.  

As you know my wife and I have been in a transition period for the last few months.  I, honestly, really have no room to complain about this at all because my wife has gone through much more than I, but this is hard for me.  I don’t think I would mind if she just has a better paying job than me (of course I better get used to that since I have chosen to work in ministry), but when I’m not bringing in a paycheck the whole situation is different…at least in my head.  KK is now working for House Of Blues, which I am very thankful for and extremely excited for her.  Only thing is I am still at home without a job.  I have become the stay-at-home mom dad nothing (and not like Cayce meant it)!  The job search is still ongoing, but I don’t have anything nailed down yet.  God is “letting” me be patient and wait on His timing.

Don’t feel sorry for me.  That’s not what I am shooting for here.  It was just on my mind and I wanted to write about it.

This is how I feel…except I am not claiming that I do all the laundry, cooking, and cleaning…yet…oh, and the baby is a fluffy white dog…and I don’t have that awful mustache…and everyone knows burp is spelled b-u-r-p not u-r-p (duh!)…and you know that dude is way to dressed up to be me…and KK is waaaaaaaay hotter!

House Husband

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cayce permalink
    January 14, 2009 9:58 AM

    Efren and I are in the same boat. I know it’s harder for him than it is for me because he feels like he is supposed to support me. I’m sure you guys never expected to be in this situation. The thing is, at some point, you will both be working. Lord willing this season will not last forever and He will bring two incredible jobs for both of you. But just so you know, KK and I don’t mind helping!! Enjoy it!!! But not too much… 😉

  2. Dad(other one) permalink
    January 14, 2009 12:16 PM

    Cayce is right…enjoy it as it is a season and a short one at that. There will soon come a time when she is home, working her tail off with house and kids and you will likewise be working your tail off elsewhere. Then you will come home to give her a little relief as you play with the kid(s), get them baths, and in bed where you can relax for a few min. assuming they will go to sleep in a few min and fall in bed yourself. You won’t regret a moment of it, though, I promise.

  3. January 14, 2009 12:20 PM

    Good thing I didn’t have to sign the marriage certificate. Slacker.

  4. Kara-Kae permalink
    January 14, 2009 4:24 PM

    First of all, I read the books. But I’m a better spouse I guess! Baby, I love you! You’re doing AMAZING!! It’s a joy to get to give back after all you’ve done for me over the last few months!!

  5. Mindy permalink
    January 15, 2009 9:54 AM

    you are so funny, just to let you know – dean is reading your blog, and I love that, we miss you guys so much, and really with the whole roles, thing you are doing great, it is so good for you to learn how much there really is to do around the house. funny the other day dean told a co-worker that he was tired and he said he stayed up ironing his clothes and the co-worker said just have Mindy do it that is her job right, and of course my husband laughed and said no it is my job, but as long as everyone knows there jobs there can be lots of joy in the home. You guys are awesome, I am going to text KK but I need your new address I have something to send!!! Have a great day!

  6. Brenda permalink
    January 17, 2009 9:08 AM

    You are making her happy, which is really your number one job! Thank you for being such a good husband and such a good son-in-law.

Leave a Reply

