Skip to content

Stylish Churches

January 8, 2009

It’s crazy how different each church is from the next. Even churches that have planted sister churches. I think I like that. I dont think differences are bad. I think the different styles attrach and reach different demographics which is very good. Most people probably need or want to experience it different than the next person. Here are some of the things that my wife and I have observed and the vision that we have for our ministry.

One of the things that I didn’t like about my move to Fort Worth was that when I moved down (Oct. 28, 2005) I didn’t have time to check out any other churches in the area. To this day I have still never been to another church on a weekend. Three years in the area and I can’t tell you from first hand experience what any of them do. That’s crazy. So we wanted to do things differently this time. So far we have been to 4 different churches and talked in depth with several others. I like that. I gives us a very good idea of what is going on around here and how we may fit here too. We have seen and heard lots of things. We have been to contemporary churches, more progressive churches, and some in the middle. We have seen choirs, ensembles, and bands. Some places do dramas. Some do dance. Some do both. Some write their own music while others use popular Christian music. Some play secular music, some strictly Christian and others no music. Some places are very churchy and others aren’t. Some have very churchy buildings and others have warehouses. Some dress up. Others are casual. Some places we feel very welcome by the volunteers and the people in general and in others we didn’t. Some have been genuinely interested in us as people and others don’t seem that way. Some have been very inviting while others aren’t.

Personally I like that we can find a church that fits who we are. Not just me and KK but anyone. That’s good because we don’t all fit in the same size shoe. For us we like non churchy church (if that even makes sense). We like church that tried to reach a crowd that lots don’t (people burnt on church, hate church, that have never been) by doing church different than what is traditional. We like church that isn’t scared to speak the truth. We like church that is loud and exciting with electric guitar solos and drums! We like churches that do everything they can to minimize distractions (because let’s face it…those of you that know me know that this is true…I don’t always have the longest attention span…I mean blogging takes me forever sometimes!). We like churches that really do care about us and want us to be there and part of their family and not just another number to count to make them look better. We like places that don’t cater to or treat differently the people that tithe the most. We like church that is easy to understand so the youth learn from it too! We like church that really does live life together and not only preach that. We like church that has focus and doesn’t try to do everything and spread themselves too thin. We like church that everyone working there enjoys working there. The list goes on and on.

These things are important to us! I could keep going for quite some time but that’s enough for know. If you really wanna discuss more, email me or comment here! What about you? What kind of church fits you? I don’t believe there is a wrong answer to that question (unless you are into some really weird crazy crap like punching old lady or something).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2009 4:33 AM

    You guys need to bring Lifechurch to Cali! Love you guys!

  2. Dad(other one) permalink
    January 12, 2009 3:22 PM

    Good thoughts….I like what you have to say though I know it will suprise you to know we probably won’t be attracted by the same church. As you say there is nothing wrong with that. What appeals to me has changed over the years. I’m finding that performance worship is less important than honest (who can judge?) worship. Sometimes I have felt more worship when I listened to a special ministries choir than a great sounding group. I’ve spent too much time in worship teams to know that many folks with lots of talent are not worshiping God but seeking recognition.
    When the words speak of things like “I give my all to You” or somesuch I have to stop singing and ask myself, “Is that really my heart?”. Then the worship becomes a silent prayer of…”Lord, where is my heart?” Contemplation is often more honest worship for me than verbal.
    I’m proud of you both….

  3. January 14, 2009 12:18 PM

    Sigh, churches like Life church are only about being seen and having big screens and expensive crap. Give me a break. There are even more distractions at churches like this. Churches like lifechurch don’t care about you. They just want more money to buy more crap. Give me a break. These new churches like this are disgusting. They don’t worship, they just have fun. It’s so retarded that churches like this are becoming the norm. Sigh.

  4. I'm Brook James permalink*
    January 14, 2009 2:48 PM

    Well K, as a former LifeChurch.tv employee I would respectfully disagree. Yes they do spend money on “expensive crap” but they also have an incredible children’s ministry, a pastor that teaches in 14 different places at one time without missing a beat, and sound systems that don’t crackle and crash in ever experiment. Maybe it’s just the stage of life that I am in, but I am much less distracted there than numerous other places and I am looking for things at LifeChurch.tv. Like I said in the post, the same church isn’t for every single person. I like that. When we all have to fit into one mold, it creates chaos. And what’s wrong with having fun? I’m sure that not everyone does worship, but I would be willing to bet that in any church you go to anywhere there are people that aren’t really worshiping. I believe that God created us for the specific reason to have fun with Him. Granted the Bible doesn’t say, therefore go and have fun, but it also doesn’t say go and be miserable. Once again, please hear me. I am absolutely not saying that LifeChurch.tv is for everyone. Not at all. I’m not saying they are perfect. They have their faults and shortcomings just like you and me. After all, they do have humans in leadership. But, I have seen so many people turn their lives over to Christ and completely turn around their lives with LifeChurch.tv being the vessel that God used to speak to them. You don’t have to like them. I’m fine with that. Just know that they really are doing a great thing and God is absolutely blessing that.

  5. johnsnyder55 permalink
    January 14, 2009 4:43 PM

    Wow. I have never seen or heard anybody call the Bride of Christ disgusting. I am glad churches like this are becoming the norm. More people need to hear about Christ. Besides, if you don’t like it you don’t have to go there, and that is if you have ever even visited lifechurch.tv.
    There is no reason we should ever bash a church. You might not like it, but a lot of people have started relationships with God because of Life. They may not have ever stepped foot in a church or heard about Christ if it wasn’t for life or any other church like Life. The Bride of Christ is beautiful in every form.

  6. January 15, 2009 6:51 AM

    K,

    I think Craig really said it best, in a message earlier this year. I’d really encourage you to visit http://www.lifechurch.tv/message-archive/watch/one-prayer/1, week 1 speaks about how God wants churches to complete each other, and Satan wants us to compete. I think you could really be blessed by the message.

Leave a Reply

