Skip to content

The Rear View Mirror

January 4, 2009

Sunset In Rearview MirrorWell, it is that time of the year that everyone that blogs on a consistent basis (well probably even those that don’t blog that often too) sit down and reflect on the year that has been conquered. I don’t know that I am much of a reflection type of guy or blogger so I will just give you some of the highlights of my year…and of course they will not be in order so that I don’t have to try to rank everything because that is insane.

  • I got married! Still not really sure how I convinced her to do that. I think my parents must have paid her a large chunk of money under the table that she can’t touch until 10 years down the road or something like that. I mean I know I’m pretty freakin’ cool sweet gorgeous amazing rich famous funny different (I’m sure that one we can all agree on), but not sure that it warrants this. But for real, this is amazing. I couldn’t have picked a better woman or wife for me. I am seriously blessed…and I’m going to move on since that could take all day.
  • My sister got married! They had a great wedding and are now well on their way through their first year. Take care of her Beto. Work on that golf game because me and my 90’s scoring will take you out!
  • My brother-in-law got married too and is now expecting a baby girl! Have some estrogen, Toby!
  • I resigned from LifeChurch.tv, a church that I love. We felt God calling us to an unknown place (which of course we will get to soon enough…”hold your horses” as my mom would say) and left everything that we had know for the past 3 years. Maybe some day I will have the honor of working for LC again. Craig did tell me that if I ever needed a job I should call him. Ha!
  • I taught KK to wakeboard. That was awesome! She was amazing. A freakin’ natural. After we got past the lymnohydrophobia and the massive panic drinking of lake water, she tore it up. I must be a stud teacher. PS – she was pretty freakin’ hot ridin’ that wakeboard. Guess I will have to find someone out here with a boat and do that again!
  • We moved to Huntington Beach, California!…by way of Dana Point, California and the Snyders. Before we left LifeChurch.tv we knew that God was calling us somewhere and it turned out to be the sunny state of California! Woo hoo! (and I was so worried as a little kid that God was gonna call me to be a missionary to some place in the desert…yes desert, not dessert because then I would be a really fat missionary…and never have a shower or TV or sports or anything fun ever again) (and no, Jesus I’m not saying that I wouldn’t go or using the words never or not a chance or anything like that, just in case) We have been here almost 2 months now and are loving it! We are looking forward to the jobs and relationships and life that He has planned for us out here!
  • Me, KK, and Jack all got a year older. Hard to believe, I know.
  • I learned to surf! Well, I am still learning. I have done it though and I got a surfboard for Christmas! Now I just gotta get the lingo down. Then I can be stoked for the break with the killer swells for me to shred…but not yet.
  • We sold our house in 3 weeks! We felt bad for the other houses on the street that had their houses on the market for several months prior to ours…wait…no we didn’t. Thank you, Jesus! Ok, that was kinda mean, but we were still excited.
  • We had some hard times too. There was a gall bladder surgery, job changes, crappy jobs, sicknesses, apparent chronic illnesses of the tummy region, the loss of family members, expenses, moving away from friends and family, housing issues, I had a toothpick shoved into my foot, and the list goes on and on.

But I think that we can say wholeheartedly that we have had a great year. No matter what the bad stuff was, we grew closer together and got to deal with everything together! We have been told many times that the first year of marriage is the hardest. Good! It’s almost over and it really wasn’t that bad! So, for those of you that pray for us, please keep that up this year. Pray for good jobs for us. Pray for us to continue growing closer to each other and keeping God right in the middle of it all!

We are looking forward to a year ahead. It has lots of things to come. A wedding in April. A potential trip to meet the Masad (Israeli special bad A forces)…and see lots of sights. Another year with my wife. More surfing, wakeboarding, and snowboarding. Endless summer (like for real, not the movie…well maybe the movie too). A church home. 24 (need I really say more?). Bring it on 2009!

We love you all!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kara-Kae permalink
    January 4, 2009 2:21 PM

    Yeah sorry about the toothpick thing. My bad. It has been a great year with you! I love you tons!

Leave a Reply

