Skip to content

Logic States

December 11, 2008

College Football AwardsSo I am in a state of complete confusion. I really can’t figure this out. I don’t believe that you can come to this conclusion using logic. Every year they give out awards to the top college football players. One of these is the Davey O’Brien Award. It goes to the nations most outstanding quarterback. This year Sam Bradford from Oklahoma won that award. That’s fine. I have no problem with that. But here is what I don’t understand. They also give out an award for the college football player of the year. It’s called the Maxwell Award (not to be confused with the Heisman Trophy which is also for the college football player of the year but given by a different foundation).

So what I don’t understand is how someone can win the award for the best quarterback and then not be a nominee for the best player of the year award (Maxwell) when all the nominees are quarterbacks. Does that make sense? How does a different quarterback win that award. Logic would state that the winning of the best quarterback should win the Maxwell and Heisman if the only nominees are quarterbacks. Right?

Can someone explain that to me? And I am not even worried about the fact that my OU boy didn’t get more. That’s not the point. The point is that if they are all quarterbacks those awards should all go to the same player regardless of who he is. That’s all I’m saying. I’m not posting a case for the Heisman to go to Bradford or trying to change your mind. Just wondering if anyone out there understands how this is all possible.

And I don’t want to hear anyone blame the BCS.  They may be in the middle of controversy right now, but they don’t have anything to do with this!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kevin D permalink
    December 12, 2008 5:43 AM

    I noticed this as well – even as an OSU fan. Bradford wins the best quarterback award, but not the golden arm award (given to Harrell). Tebow wins the Maxwell award, where Bradford (the O’Brien winner) isn’t a nominee but Harrell (the Unitas winner) is. And how can Tebow be the Outstanding player (Maxwell), but McCoy get the Player of the Year (Walter Camp)?

    And how does Crabtree get the best receiver award? Dez Bryant – fifth in the nation in scoring – has more yards and equal touchdown’s on fewer catches, against the same competition. These awards make no sense.

  2. December 12, 2008 5:59 AM

    Maybe they’re trying to spread it around?

  3. December 12, 2008 7:27 AM

    Eh, I know there is a rant somewhere inside me, but it would come off UT biased. It’s all about perspective, if the Maxwell is the Best College Football player than what is the Heisman? I thought the Heisman was the best football player, is the Heisman really MVP?? If so, the choice for the Heisman is easy…If not than either of three of them should win it and why do we have two awards that mean the same thing?

  4. Kara-Kae permalink
    December 13, 2008 9:26 AM

    I didn’t read this. Still love ya though!

  5. cayce permalink
    December 13, 2008 9:32 PM

    Yay for the Heisman!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: