Skip to content

Boomer Sooner

December 7, 2008

BCSOk, so I have tried to take a break from the football blogging because apparently that was all my blog was about.  So I have not blogged in a while.  But, the BCS bowl games are set and it is finally time to sit around and wait!  Woo hoo!  That just means more talk.  More whining from Mack Brown for a month and then everything finally happens.  Regardless of what you believe about the BCS I think we can all agree that if we had a playoff system, we would have nothing to complain about.  Then what do we do?  That’s what I thought.  So for those of you out there that care about college football, how do you feel about the whole thing?  Do you like the bowl games?  Do you like the matchups this year?  Personally I wanted to see OU Texas again, but it didn’t happen.  Oh well.  Guess we will have to wait til next year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. scottrodgers permalink
    December 7, 2008 9:03 PM

    A playoff is a must. I guess it ended up being when you lost. If it was later in the year, it was worse. The earlier, the better. It should probably be OU and Texas since Texas lost to Tech when they were ranked real high and Florida lost to Miss State who wasn’t ranked.

    I never really got into college football much until I was immersed into this freaking crazy football state of OK.

  2. December 8, 2008 7:24 AM

    Well they managed to still screw it up. The BCS could have gave us three really, really awesome games. But instead we get 2, two good ones and three crap that no one will watch.

    The Good:
    Penn St vs. USC
    Awesome game, I hate the Big 10, but something about Joe Pa makes this one feel good – USC 38, Penn St 27

    Florida vs. OU
    A good one here too, my prediction would be biased so I’ll leave that out. So who shows up? Big 12 Bob, or Big Game Bob?
    If OU loses, does Bob Stoops go down as the worst Bowl Game Coach ever?

    The Bad:
    Texas vs. Ohio State
    Are you kidding me? Seriously please someone tell me why the Sugar bowl isn’t Texas vs. Alabama? Am I crazy? Doesn’t that make sense? Big 12 No. 1.5(one and half, can you blame me?) vs. SEC No. 2, halfway between Austin and Alabama? Are you kidding me? This could have been the most intriguing game outside of the National Championship. But instead the idiots had to break it up; because they were afraid no one would watch Utah get pounced by the Third Best team in the Big 10 (Yes Michigan State is really better than Ohio State). Your right no one would watch that game, but the whole country would have watched Texas and Alabama. – Texas 45 – Ohio State 17

    Utah vs. Alabama
    What a freaking Joke, Nick Saban destroys this “undefeated team”
    – Alabama 31 – Utah 13

    Cincinnati vs. Virginia Tech
    Does anyone even really care? Not me! I don’t even think anyone in Ohio will watch this game! Cincinnati 3 – Virginia Tech 2

  3. Dad permalink
    December 8, 2008 11:59 AM

    I agree with David. The first 2 matches are great but someone went to sleep after that. A play off would help everyone but the players, I think. Once they got into it, a team would be pretty beat up by the time they got to the final. It’s not like basketball where you can play a game every 2 days. You would have to shorten the reg. season to get it done by early Jan.

  4. December 8, 2008 12:50 PM

    One great argument for a playoff ‘Brook’s Dad’, is that there are thousands of College football players that manage a playoff already. Div I-AA, Div II and Div III all have a playoff and play 12 game regular seasons (They don’t have conference championship games). Those Student-Athletes play through Christmas and end the last week in Dec.

Leave a Reply

