Skip to content

Hope

November 22, 2008

It’s funny how we hope for the craziest things.  This morning I woke up having hope for a few things like that.  I hope that the surf gets better so I can go surf.  I hope that OU beats Texas Tech and Texas is still left out.  I hope that the weather is as awesome as it is yesterday.  I hope that I will figure out this odd time change and not sleep through too much football on Saturdays.  But sometimes it seems that hope is harder to come by.

When you have hope, the little things don’t seem to be more than little things.  But sometimes it is harder to hang on to that hope.  When something you really want and need continues to elude you.  When something always seems to be just outside your grasp.  When you are at the door you have been led to but it seems to be cracked and not opened enough to get through.  It makes you question things.  It makes you question yourself.  It makes you question what you want.

What do you tell someone in this position?  The right words aren’t always easy to come by.  It reminds me of a song by Charlie Hall.  This is what I would pray for you.

Set this hope in me, Set this hope in me

Though You slay me I will hope
Hope inspires my endurance
Your hope is my anchor
God of hope fill me

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kara-Kae permalink
    November 22, 2008 10:18 PM

    Was that for me? 😉

  2. Dad permalink
    November 24, 2008 4:24 PM

    Good words…it works for me too….

  3. November 25, 2008 2:16 PM

    Brook and KK–your blog about hope is exactly what I’ve been going through since I retired and started volunteering at Lifechurch. I just knew that I knew I was supposed to be the campus admin there after I retired. God made it so easy for me to retire, to meet and marry Steve, everything. But I hadn’t counted on being married when I thought that about Lifechurch. God always has something better than we could ever dream of for ourselves. Now I get to volunteer doing what I love and enjoy, go to Bible Study Fellowship, help Kimberlea with the grandchildren and be married to the sweetest man alive! Boy did my life turn out better than I could have ever imagined when I became part of campus development 3 years ago after a broken heart. Keep your hope, keep an eye out for the cracks in the doors you get close to opening. There will be a door in the near future that you will be able to walk right through and it will be so amazing that you won’t know what to do! I’m still praying for you both. Keep blogging so I will know what to pray for! Gina and Steve

Leave a Reply

